A Healthy Snack

The other night I was feeling a bit peckish after dinner so I put my knitting down to have a healthy snack of hummos and carrots. I ate a few bites until my snacking urge was quelled then went back to the knitting. Within a few minutes, I was having thoughts of being totally useless, of being a loser, of not being good enough for a job. Knowing the reaction in my brain was due to something I ate, I checked the ingredients of the hummos.

Everything looked good until the last two ingredients: “Less than 1/10th of 1% Sodium Benzoate and Potassium Sorbate (to preserve freshness)”. Sodium Benzoate, when combined with vitamin C forms benzene.

Wolf and I were on a juice fast and bought chemical vegetables because a 1 pound bag of organic was the same price as a 5 pound bag of chemical. Wolf was put onto furlough this week so money is super tight. As much as we wanted to juice all organically there was just no way we could afford to do so. Because he wasn’t working, we had to end the juice fast earlier than we expected (no money to keep going to the store to buy veggies) but we still had a lot of veggies left over which we didn’t want to waste.

Was the reaction I had because of the Sodium Benzoate and/or Potassium Sorbate? Because of the chemical veggies? A combination? Who knows! What I do know is we won’t be buying hummos anymore, instead Wolf will be making it.

Making our own foods is becoming more and more important to us. Getting off the processed foods, off the convenience foods, has had a wonderful toll on our health and given us both a sense of satisfaction. Teaching ourselves the art of traditional foods has expanded out palates and our brains. Our bodies are slimming, our minds are sharper and we’ve even inspired friends! What more can you ask for?

This entry was posted in Cough/How Do I Look..?, Food, Glorious Food. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Healthy Snack

  1. mkowalewski says:

    All the more reason to buy your food local (a la veggies and meat from a local farm) and/or grow your own/make your own instead of relying on ready made stuff. Chemicals. Blech.

  2. I like humus and made before. Which one can get quite creative. I look at it as a pate or a dip.
    But I know money is tight for most of us unless your in the 1% group.

    Coffee is on.

  3. Soli says:

    And people wonder why i am so gung ho on making my own foods. Sure, it’s a small percent in one item. But if you’re eating a lot of items which have that supposedly small amount, it can add up quickly into big numbers.

  4. Michelle says:

    I’m so glad for you that you have become well-attuned to what your body needs – and what it won’t tolerate. It’s a shame that food can’t just be, well, food. I am sensitive to HFCS – makes my ear canals itch (seriously!) – and occasionally I am surprised when something I thought innocuous sets me to itching. Really does reinforce our desire to grow our own, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

