Lughnasadh

Today is Lughnassdh (said ‘loo-ahg-noo’), celebration of the harvest. It’s hot and humid here in Central New Hampshire today and my garden is doing pretty well. Wolf and I will be going to the Concord UU tonight to celebrate with ritual, food, and song. I am making a pasta salad for tonights dinner using ingredients that will come from today’s Farmer’s Market in Franklin. The only non local stuff will be the pasta, oil, olives, and artichoke hearts. Everything else will be from the surrounding area.

Mother Earth’s fertility will be eaten tonight by millions of Pagans around the world. We will honor her bounty with fires, songs, rituals, trances, chants, and meditation. We will connect with her life force and be nourished by the fruits from her womb. We will be grateful for her life sustaining abilities and will apologize to her for the ongoing rape of her flesh by corporations and governments more concerned with profit over sustainability. Wolf and I will continue to plod along, attempting to make changes to protect Our Mother from the evils of capitalism, all the while love Our Mother as she should be loved. Honoring her as she should be honored through tasting her food and accepting her nourishment into our bodies without the help of chemical pesticides, herbicides, and fertilizers.

Thank you Mother Earth for life abundant. I hear your birds chirping outside my window, feel your heat and humidity, hear your voice in the wind, taste your love in red peppers. Tonight I will sleep wrapped in your abundance.

This entry was posted in Faith, Other Animals, Wheel of the Year. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lughnasadh

  1. Candy says:

    Hello again!
    I found your site by the Homesteading webring. I see the numbers are growing to the list on the ring. I learned something today, I have never heard of Lughnasadh. Thanks for posting about it. I enjoyed it. Thanks!
    Candy
    http://country-life.blogspot.com/

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Hi Candy,

    Your comment was in moderation and for some reason a notification wasn’t sent to my email for me to approve it. Sorry about that.

    The ring is getting pretty big, which is very cool.

    Do come back!

Leave a Reply

