Tomatos

A couple weeks ago we bought 18 tomato plants from Agway down in Tilton. There are only 5 left. Something has snapped the stalks in half at the soil line. At first I thought it was from all the rain we got (thanks to Hurricane Barry running up the Atlantic) because it poured in sheets, but then I talked to Gayle about it and she said cut worms. Her remedy is to put two toothpicks on either side of the plant so the worm can get around it to cut, so I did that. And still we lost a tomato plant. She said she would drop some off to us because she has too many, so hopefully they’ll make it.

tomato

Sun is out today and I’m hoping he stays. It’s been a week of humid rain without a peek of Sun coming through the thick, low clouds.

Edited to add: We only have four tomato plants left in that particular bed. I have tomatoes in another bed and they seem to be doing fine. Wolf thinks the cut worms came in the pots when we bought the tomato plant, but that doesn’t make sense to me. After all, wouldn’t the cutworms have snapped the plant in half?

I planted some peace vine cherries in the place where the Agway bought tomatoes (the one’s which were snapped by the cutworms) so we’ll see if they grow (they are barely an inch tall).

How does one eliminate cutworms?

This entry was posted in Gardenin'. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tomatos

  1. Gina says:

    Hi Nio,

    It does sound like cutworm. I think I will post an informative post over at la Blog. I’ll also mention what I did for the tomatoes here this year. The good news you can combat these guys and it is not too late to replant.

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Thanks Gina. I look forward to it.

    We have to buy some tomato plants, but don’t have the money. It’ll have to wait until next week. THing is, the plants that were cut down were bought at Agway. The seeds I sprouted never came to fruition. Well, a few did but they’re not in the same bed as the ones which were cut down.

Leave a Reply

