Green Garden

How lush our garden looks. The potatoes, cabbage, spinach, peppers, squash, tomatoes, peas, turnips, bush and pole beans, pumpkins, and cucumbers are doing very well.

The potatoes flowered as did the squash, peppers, peas, tomatoes, cucumbers, and beans. We’ve been able to eat some of the peas (mmmmmm) and spinach. I haven’t harvested the spinach yet because it’s flowering now which means it’ll go to seed soon. I want to be able to harvest the seeds so I won’t have to buy any next year.

The zucchini is growing, I’ve seen about three so far, which makes me very happy. The speghetti squash and pumpkins have flower buds on them, but have not opened yet. The beans also have flowers, which have opened, but no beans as of yet. Some of the tomatoes have flowered and there area few yellow pear tomatoes appearing on the vine. The other tomatoe plants either haven’t flowered or have, but no fruit has come about.

The cucumbers are going wild I think. The pickling cukes are all over the place, lots of flowers and vegetables on the vines. The other cucumbers are still small and have not vined out, much less flowered. At this point, I’m not sure they will.

The turnips and cabbage continue to grow, but I don’t know when we’ll see a vegetable from them. Especially the cabbage: I don’t know if it flowers or what. Only time will tell, I guess.

The garlic and onions seem to be doing ok. I haven’t seen anything popping out of the ground, but it’s still early in July and I don’t expect to see anything until late August. The other herbs I planted are doing very well: the oregano has small flowers on it, the basil continues to grow, and the catnip has flowers and has gotten pretty tall.

All in all, this has been a good garden thus far. I am quite pleased.

This entry was posted in Gardenin'. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Green Garden

  1. Ron says:

    I like your site, and your garden. This year, we are building a house and just had enough time to throw some summer squash, okra, tomatoes, and beans in. But the cucumbers sound good!

    Ron

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Thanks Ron. Come back often!

Leave a Reply

