Activism

Protesting is one of my favorite activities. Here is a list of all the protests I’ve been to:

September 2006 Interfaith Peace March, Concord, New Hampshire
January 2005 Inauguration of George W. Bush, Washington, D.C.
August 2004 Republican National Convention, New York City
July 2004 Democratic National Convention, Boston, Massachusetts
June 2004 Bridging the Gap for Health Care, Portsmouth, New Hampshire
May 2004 Marriage Equality, Boston, Massachusetts
April 2004 March for Women’s Lives, Washington, D.C.
April 2004 Death and Taxes, Andover, Massachusetts
December 2003 BAE Systems, Nashua, New Hampshire
July 1998 Economic Human Rights Campaign, New York City
December 1997 Brookline Clinic Massacres Memorial March, Boston, Massachusetts

Only once have I been to a protest involving religion, the Interfaith Peace March in September of 2006. I have always wanted to marry my faith and my activism, but have never been able to find a suitable outlet for such. I have not been able to figure out why, but I think it’s because most Pagan activism takes place on the West Coast and not on the East Coast.

I find many Republican/Conservative Pagans in my area, which I don’t understand at all (a completely different post to be addressed at a later date) and some very shy Pagans, myself included. Coming out of the Peace Closet is hard enough as is coming out of the Broom Closet. Marrying the two makes one unemployable and unfriendable.

So how can I reconcile my Paganism with my activism? How can I create a single person instead of two halves to one person? And where do I find like minded individuals who promote social justice through their Paganism and vice versa?

I’ve been thinking about studying Reclaiming as a first date between my Paganism and activism. I contacted the only person listed in my area, who sent my name to a list. A second woman contacted me, to which I’ve responded. I have not heard from her, but it’s only been a couple days so I won’t panic yet.

But before I go down such a path, I need to practice my faith in a more personal manner. I’ve gone back to the basics by educating myself in spell casting, writing, and creation. I find that I lack many of the tools necessary for spell casting and wish to rectify this, but money is tight. Where does one go when one is poor to find supplies that are difficult to find, at best?

This entry was posted in Community Action, Deep Thoughts, Faith, Pagan Education, Rabble Rousing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

