Hawks

When I got home from Maine yesterday I read a note from Debbie our pet sitter who said there were a couple hawks living in the yard. At first I thought they were living here for a while and I didn’t notice, but then I heard their cries and realized these are new sounds for our yard.

It sounds as if there are two hawks. One has a higher-pitched scream than the other. I’m thinking it’s a mama teaching her young how to hunt, but I could be way off on this.

I’ve been trying to get a picture for the last 24 hours to no avail. They are fast and stick to the trees.

Man, do these hawks make a lot of noise when they swoop! I had no idea how vocal they are. And it’s a cacophony of sound around here. All the birds are making a raucous (Hawk! Hawk! Danger Will Robinson! There’s a HAWK!) and flying hither thither. I do feel a little bad, but it’s all part of the food web so I don’t feel too bad.

Here’s a link to some pictures of a sharp shinned hawk. That’s what it looks like to me.
I did take my recorder outside and recorded its screams (and the chatter of other birds), now I just have to figure out how to upload an MP3 onto this blog.

Very exciting!

This entry was posted in Linky Love, Other Animals. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hawks

  1. farm mom says:

    We get sharped shinned hawks in our yard also, mostly fall-spring. They use our bird feeder as a buffet!! :) Many times I accidently disturb them from their hidden perch because I didn’t see them hiding in the trees.

  2. Howling Hill says:

    This is the first time I’ve seen them in the yard (we’ve been here for almost three years) and the first time I’ve *heard* them.

    Today they seem to be hunting elsewhere. I can hear them off in the distance, however, only intermittently. Sat and Sun, though, I could hear them *all* day.

Leave a Reply

