Reclaiming

Over the last few weeks, I’ve been netting around looking at the different traditions of Witchcraft.* I’ve been feeling the intense need to study something. Maybe this is because my educational career is now over. Definitely I crave assignments and due dates, but that’s because of a decade of attendance in three different academic institutions. Instead of fighting the desire to have assignments and due dates, I thought I would embrace it and see where it leads me.

There is no one tradition which speaks to me specifically, although I hear Reclaiming whispering in my ear persistently. I like how activism is mated to Witchcraft in Reclaiming, so I sought out a teacher in my area. Last night I spoke with her on the phone and we made some plans. First, I have to buy The Spiral Dance by Starhawk and read it (I did buy it just now, which left 28 cents in my checking account). Then I have to buy of Book of Shadows, but that needs to wait until my spouse’s paycheck comes in next week. After the two books come into my possession, I have to write about the journey I took to find this particular teacher, and what a Book of Shadows is.

As I was falling asleep last night, I started to panic about doing this “class” and starting a new job. But then I realized this is exactly what I need, what I’ve been cultivating. I consistently state I need balance in my life, that balance is the hardest things for me to attain. Well, this is be balancing a new job and a new way of practicing my spirituality. My religion. My belief system. It’s a way to marry those two very important aspects of myself which I have been wanting to do for quite some time but never had the time or money.

The teacher lives three hours away so us getting together will be difficult. We are supposed to see each other next month, with me traveling to her house. I stated outright I would need a place to stay because six hours in the car is just too much for and she offered up her home. That’s a little weird, but it just might be me being me: standoffish and distrustful.

I am excited to embark on this spiritual journey. I have no particular goal but to learn as much as I can, and to ground and balance myself.

*Note I don’t use the word “Paganism.” For me, Paganism is a broad term. Certainly it can be a tradition, though.

I need to come up with a name for a catagory in which to catagorize this education I receiving. I don’t want to call it “education” or “class” or “school”, but I don’t know what else to call it. Suggestions?

I did tell her about this blog, but she was completely uninterested and wants me to write on paper instead. I’ll be able to write about the journey here and how I feel about it/myself/the world.

This entry was posted in Grindstone, Pagan Education, Pages. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

