Looking Back and Looking Forward

Lot of great posts out there on what peops are doing regarding the New Year.

Phelan has a great post on the seeds she planted already. *sigh*, I’m so envious. We don’t have the room to plant seeds in the house, nor do we get enough sunlight. Even if we got some trees down, there aren’t enough windows to let the light in. And, like I said, there’s no room anyways. Every corner in this house has stuff in it.

Christy has a great post on what she learned this year. I’ll follow her lead and list what I learned in 2007.

Learned in 2007

1. How to hot water can
2. How to pressure can
3. How to seed tomatoes

It’s a pretty short list, actually.

Learn in 2008

1. Sew
2. Knit/crochet
3. More seed saving techniques
4. Toilet Cloths (I’m not giving up dammit!)

Another short list. One reason is because I’m seeking full time employment. It’ll be the first full time job I’ve had in 5 years which will cut down on the free time I’ve had available to me so I want to keep my goals attainable and not overwhelm myself.

Changes I made in 2007

1. Got a freezer chest from a friend
2. Bought a 1/4 pig
3. Started eating meat
4. Farmer market shopping
5. Turned down heat to 65 during day and 58 at night. I might cut that back even more.
6. Rack dry clothes during winter. Line dry during summer.
7. Took my name off catalog mailing lists

Changes to make in 2008

1. Get Wolf to make bread again
2. Eliminate paper products*
3. Buy a bigger pig to freeze. Also buy chickens to freeze.
4. Get my own chickens**
5. Eat out less
6. Continue to take my name off catalog mailing lists
7. Set up rain barrels
8. Increase the size of the seed exchange

All in all, it’s not too bad. We still have a long way to go to live as frugally and sustainably as I want, but we’ve made significant progress. My big goal, just to reiterate more to myself than to anyone else is, is to learn to sew so I can make window quilts. I have the templates already but just need to learn to use my sewing machine. I also want to learn to knit so I can make a Harry Potter scarf for myself. Not a Griffindor scarf, but a Ravenclaw one. You see, I think I’m more Ravenclaw than Griffindor. What I *do* know, though, is I’m a Harry Potter geek =)

What are your goals for the new year?

Happy New Year everyone! Good cheer to you and yours.

*I did this for a short time in 2007. I made toilet cloths but I got a nasty-yeasty rash from using them (neither the flannel on one side and face cloths on the the other side were absorbent enough.) I also got Wolf over his paper towel addiction but when I stopped using the toilet cloths and he stated buying TP again the paper towels came back. I need to work on that again.

**Depends on the job.

This entry was posted in Community Action, Gardenin', Homesteadin', Linky Love, Other Animals, Seed Swap, Seeds, Two Sticks and Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Looking Back and Looking Forward

  1. Gina says:

    Great goal list! Personally, I am finding that shorter lists are a lot easier to manage and you can always add new stuff later. I hate the let-down feeling of not getting anything crossed off. Full time work zaps a lot of time, energy and ambition, sadly.

    I think you’ve set a very responsible set of goals!

Leave a Reply

