Garden Update

Erikka asked in the comments of the previous post how my garden was doing. It’s doing well.

Despite the fact that I have the planting cells in the bedroom — it doesn’t get very warm in there — most everything has popped through the soil: most of the tomatoes, the cukes, pumpkins and squashes, one of the melons. Wolf planted some more seeds this past weekend but I don’t remember what they are.

I’ll take a picture later when the light is right and post it along with a more complete list of the seeds we’ve planted.

On a related note, The Great Melt has some visible markers: I can see the top of the picnic table, something I’ve not seen since…December or so. There is also ground visible in a couple places around the house.

Wolf has started getting the equipment together to build the chicken coop. One thing he had to do was shovel out an area behind the house so he has a place to put the coop in. The cats are loving this one area of ground: they keep pooping there.

Spring is here, snow is melting, I am thawing. I can’t wait to be outside bare breasted working in the garden!

This entry was posted in Beasts, Gardenin', Other Animals, Weatha. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Garden Update

  1. Noelle says:

    I would love to have a garden, but I don’t think I have the time for it, and I would have to wear a shirt. But I am starting a compost pile, because I’m much better at letting things die in a slow, controlled way.

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Start simple: plant some tomatoes in a bucket. Plant some herbs too. There’s nothing like fresh herbs!

    The main thing to remember with composting is not to put meat or meat products into the pile. That is, no meat scraps or bones, no dairy of any kind. And remember to fluff your compost pile every now and again but not too often. Air needs to get into the pile to decompose the vegetable matter.

Leave a Reply

