What Are Your Personal Cleaning Habits

Crunchy Chicken waxed nostalgic about 1970s deodorant commercials and asked this set of questions in an effort to quantify how our personal cleaning habits have changed over the last 30 years.

1. How often do you shower/bathe?
2. How often do you wash your hair?
3. How often do you brush your teeth?
4. How often do you floss?
5. How often do you get your hair cut?
6. Do you use “natural” products or conventional ones?
7. Have any of these habits changed as you’ve tried to live a greener lifestyle? If so, which ones and how?

1. I shower just about every day. A quick shower, I soap up with Ivory (unless I’m going somewhere special, then I use whatever fancy soap Wolf bought for me to smell pretty with) and jump out.

2. While I wet it down every day in the shower, I don’t use shampoo or conditioner on it every day. Instead, I leave Saturdays as the day to wash my hair. And many times I don’t wash it every week, sometimes I go two or three weeks without using shampoo on it. I’ve been meaning to use this shampooing method but just haven’t gotten around to it. There’s no time like the present though!

3. Every morning with Jason natural products.

4. When I have food stuck in my teeth.

5. Not very often, maybe once a season. It’s all one length just past my shoulders. I’m letting it grow long again because it’s easier to take care of when it’s long. That is, I don’t have to keep getting it cut which gets expensive. Also, I don’t have to worry about hair styles. All one length keeps it simple when I got to the hairdresser and say “take off the split ends but keep it the same length.” Generally it costs about $25. I do go through the shampooing because I enjoy the hairdressing experience but I don’t get it dried because that takes way too long.

6. Both. I use natural products such as toothpaste and soap (if Ivory *is* really pure). The conventional ones I use are shampoo and conditioner. I’ve been wanting to move away from using them because, well, every component of shampoo and conditioner — from the base chemicals in the shampoo to the process to the ink on the bottle — is made from petroleum products. Because I hadn’t found a suitable substitute for shampoo and conditioner, I just cut down on the amount I was washing my hair from everyday to once a week or thereabouts. Now I just have to get on the ball.

7. Yes. As I stated above, I’ve cut down on how often I wash my hair because I don’t really want petroleum products in my hair. And I’ve found a nice side effect. When I washed my hair everyday it was completely unmanageable. My hair is thin (although there’s a lot of it) and straight so it flies away easily. I always keep my hair back in a headband, ponytail, pigtails, or something along those lines and washing everyday meant it wouldn’t stay in the elastic. Now that I let it get “dirty” — that is, return to its natural state — and brush my head oils through my hair pretty regularly I find it’s easier to keep pulled back because it’s stays out of my face.

Also, I take much shorter showers, thus I use less hot water, because I’m not spending 15 minutes washing and rinsing my hair. And as it grows longer the time it takes to wash and rinse it increases so to wash it once a week saves a lot of time, energy, and water.

What are your personal cleaning habits?

This entry was posted in Herbalism, Saving Our Glorious Earth. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What Are Your Personal Cleaning Habits

  1. Noelle says:

    I swim 3 days a week, and the chlorine conveniently removes a lot of crap. I’ve never been much of a product user, and my current kick is looking for products that are unscented and un-dyed. I’ve had success in the lotion and deodorant departments, but I still haven’t found a good shampoo, conditioner or liquid soap (bar soap is NG since most of my showers happen at the pool or the gym.)

  2. erikka says:

    what are toilet cloths?

  3. Howling Hill says:

    Noelle: I’m with you on the unscented and undyed. Scents give me migraines and dyes just creep me out.

    I’m with you on the shampoo and conditioner which is why I’m going to be trying the recipes I linked to in the post.

    Erikka: toilet cloths are reusable toilet paper. Kinda like cloth menstrual pads, same premise, different body fluids.

  4. peppylady says:

    I’ll have my answer post on Saturday sometime over on my blog.
    Right now I have meme up for Friday and your welcome to join in.

  5. Howling Hill says:

    I look forward to it Peppy!

  6. Turtleheart says:

    1. I usually shower every day. I can’t wake up without a shower, and I feel unclean all day if I don’t have one. Plus, I have night sweats so bad from FMS, I get stinky.

    2. Once again, every day. My hair gets icky from the night sweats and clings to my face and neck if it’s not washed. Also, my scalp breaks out, which is painful. So I generally wash my hair every day.

    3. Every morning. Arm & Hammer baking soda & peroxide toothpaste. I need to remember to brush before bed, but I rarely do.

    4. When I have food stuck or my gums are bothering me.

    5. Hmmm… about every 6 to 12 weeks. The best style I’ve ever found for my type of hair needs to be kept up with, plus, when it starts touching my neck in back it drives me insane.

    6. Pretty much I use conventional ones. I’ve tried natural face cleansers– they tend to be vegetable oil based and make me break out and I can’t stand the smell. Same with soaps. Toothpaste is baking soda/peroxide type, sort of close to natural. I use a deoderant crystal and I love it– it lasts forever! Mine is over 2 years old and will probably last another year.

    7. Well the deoderant and toothpaste have been a change. I use a special shampoo and conditioner for alopecia (hair loss), and that just isn’t going to change. If I could find soaps and cleansers I could tolerate that wouldn’t make me break out, I’d change to those.

  7. randilin says:

    On a pagan e-mail discussion list that I am on I post a question of the week every Sunday. Often they are interconnected and related questions. A few months back we did a monthly series focusing on the environment. Things like list one thing you do for the environment that someone hasn’t said yet. One that was really interesting to read the responses to is what you wouldn’t give up. For myself it was the hot showers. I only take them every couple of days But when I do they are long and very hot. It my weakness.

    Thanks for joining the Pagan Blogger’s Network, I’ll be checking back often.

  8. Howling Hill says:

    Randilin: I’ve written about Pagans and the environment a number of times. It’s my belief we should be the leaders of the environmental movement considering we view Earth as Our Mother.

    I look forward to more comments from you!

Leave a Reply

