Cost Prohibitive

I know I’ve mentioned a few times that I’m planning a memorial service for my dad this coming Saturday. I wrote up an announcement for the Boston Globe. This is what I wrote:

A memorial mass in honor of [Dad’s first name, middle initial, and last name] will be held on Saturday May 3, 2008 at 10am at the Church of [name] [street address], Lexington, MA.

[Dad’s] life was taken suddenly on May 5, 1978 in his hometown of Lexington. He left behind his wife, [name] and son [name] both of Bedford and daughter Michelle [my last name and town I live in]; his mother [name]; brothers [name] and [name] of Lexington; and sister [name] of Concord; and many aunts, uncles, and cousins of Cambridge, Arlington, and Charlestown.

Please join us as we celebrate his life and bring stories and pictures you wish to share with his friends and family. No flowers please. Donations can be made in [Dad’s] name to the donors’ favorite charity.

Can you believe that cost over $300? I said to the woman “this is obnoxiously cost prohibitive. How are the poor and working class supposed to afford running an obit at such an astronomical rate?” I then told her to forget it.

I’m disgusted with Boston Globe. I won’t be subscribing to that newspaper anytime soon.

This entry was posted in Corporations. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cost Prohibitive

  1. Noelle says:

    Old fashioned newspapers are losing subscribers at astronomical speeds. They don’t make money off of classifieds anymore, because of Craig’s List. Since obits don’t have a comparable internet alternative yet, they have to charge as high a price as they can in order to stay profitable, but even that isn’t working anymore.

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Since the NYT bought the Globe a few years back, it’s gone downhill rapidly.

    The Globe was always a hoity-toity paper. Now it’s trying to be the NYT and failing miserably while jacking up the price for no apparent reason.

    Death notices should be free in ALL papers. To charge over $300 is fucking rude and greedy.

  3. Allie says:

    That is terrible. They should at least give you 50 words or so for free and then charge if you want more . . . something like that. Although, I suppose they are a business and not a public service. Still, that’s frustrating.

  4. Howling Hill says:

    The two local papers I put the announcement in didn’t charge me at all. And I put a picture in too.

    And why aren’t obits a public service? I think they should be.

Leave a Reply

