How I Met Your Mother

I’ve heard a lot of good things about the show How I Met Your Mother so I put the first disc into my Netflix queue.

It was boring. And I’m really disappointed it was so boring.

The show is totally formulaic. It’s just like every other network comedy out there. There is nothing outstanding about it.

I watched the first eight episodes (the first disc) and just didn’t see the appeal.

The rundown: people living in NYC. Guy #1: looking for love. Guy #2: sex hound Girl #1: not looking for love. Unicouple: just got engaged. Blah, blah, blah. Antics ensue. Blah, blah, blah. Friends sleep together. Blah, blah, blah. Everyone seems to have money for cabs, bars, doctors, clubs but no one seems to work. Blah, blah, blah.

It’s to bad because I really like Neil Patrick Harris and Allyson Hannigan. But their performances are stunted because the writing is so bad. If this is the best these two had offered to them I suggest new agents. Or new careers.

On a scale of 1-10, 10 being incredible, this is a 3 at best. More like a 2.1323221.

This entry was posted in Boob Tube. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How I Met Your Mother

  1. Noelle says:

    Bummer. I was hoping to watch that when I finished with all of the super awesome shows I’m watching on DVD.

  2. Howling Hill says:

    What are you watching?

  3. Allie says:

    I think it got better after the first season. I enjoy it. Sometimes it’s comforting to watch something that fits the formula. But I remember kind of feeling like I could take it or leave it the first season.

  4. Howling Hill says:

    Allie: when does it pick up?

  5. Allie says:

    You know, I don’t totally remember. I watched it while it was on (and I don’t know that I’d still like it if I watched it all at once on a disc). I just remember it going from a show I’d watch when nothing else was on (we don’t have cable, so that happens often) to a show I make an effort to watch. But I grew up on sitcoms and I do find something comforting about that format.

    If you still have the discs — watch the last one and see if it’s any better. Maybe give season 2 a try. Neil Patrick Harris makes the show, if you ask me.

  6. Pingback: Robin Hood: The Series « Howling Hill

Leave a Reply

