Rose Colored Blogs

Maria from small red house has a great post today.

I understand that there’s a line between public and private life, and it’s up to each of us to determine what that means to us. But it’s strange that “public” usually automatically means what we consider the best sides.

I agree. There are lots of blogs I love to pieces but would like to see more openness regarding the not so fabulous parts of life.

For myself, I struggle with how much to expose. My last blog was so full of rage and fear, I was a target for those who felt they could “educate” me into thinking like them. Then I would be criticized and insulted for not changing my opinion to mirror theirs. One particular post had me bawling my eyes out when I read the comments, fighting with Wolf, and me sleeping on the couch.

What say you? Do you always show your good side?

This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rose Colored Blogs

  1. erikka says:

    my blog was not intended for a personal discourse when I started it. the purpose was to keep me writing. some days though, days where i struggle with intense emotions or happenings, they tend to creep into my blog a bit. while i don’t avoid this, i also don’t encourage it. it depends on the blog and the blogger what you’re going to read and how they want to share themselves. some people really value and need and nourish their online community, so they will share everything in this space and it will be their place and way to work through issues.

    for me, the place i rant, rave, scream, cry and work through my feelings is in a journal. it’s a personal process in which I want to know who’s involved,not just anyone and everyone who can tap into my blog. if i want people in that process, honestly, they will most likely be real people i can see hear and hug, not virtual ones.

  2. Noelle says:

    I always try to show my positive side. I don’t like going into how I feel sad about things because it’s usually a fleeting, powerful feeling that could overwhelm the blog.

    But yeah, my blog me is not the same as the real me. I think. Lots of editing goes into that thing. (But not lots of proofreading.)

  3. punchlinewalking says:

    Hmmm…this is a really interesting topic. My blog isn’t overly personal (I talk about my life, but not necessarily my feelings all the time), but when I do get personal I’m probably more rose colored than I am in real life (but I’m fairly even-keeled in real life, too).

  4. Allie says:

    My blog isn’t a personal one, so it really doesn’t apply. I think when I do talk about myself and my family I’m very honest about it — I’m a very what you see is what you get kind of person anyway — but on my bad days, I don’t have the luxury of pouring my heart out on a blog. It just wouldn’t fit the format.

  5. Howling Hill says:

    Ladies: thanks for being honest.

    I struggle to keep this blog open yet closed. I also struggle to keep posts on politics and society down to a minimum. But sometimes I just gatta rant.

Leave a Reply

