Allergy Head: The Neti Pot

So Allie recommended I get a neti pot for my allergy head in the comments of this post. I ordered one from Peaceful Company down in Connecticut yesterday and it just came in today.

Now, first off, I’m feeling better than I did yesterday but still not 100%. I’m still stuffy and sneezy but not feeling (and looking) like death. We had rain last night and generally the rain makes me feel a little better because it washes away the pollen. The downside to rain is often I feel worse *after* it stops because the blooming commences full force.

Anyways, I tried the neti pot. There’s definitely a skill to using it I don’t have yet. I put the salt in and the warm water, stuck it up my nose (I thought I had bought a ceramic one but it’s plastic. I’m not going to throw it away and buy another although I hate using plastic). I started with the left nostril, which is currently snot free. The solution went down my throat so I pulled my chin in and then I felt it going into my right ear.

Then I put it in my right nostril which is clogged beyond belief. Nothing. I’m not sure the fluid actually went *into* my nose because I couldn’t feel it. So I switched back to the left and again I was sputtering as I felt it going down my throat. Back to the right and nothing. Back to the left and I got it right this time but still it didn’t come out my right nostril like the video says it’s supposed it. And then my right ear started crackling and squeaking like it does whenever I get fluid into it and it still doesn’t feel quite right.

I’m not going to give up on the neti pot. I figure if it’s been around for a couple centuries there’s some benefit(s) to it. And right now my nose is running so maybe that’s a good thing.

I do have to say, though I have a slight saline taste in the back of my throat. I suspect it would be worse if my taste buds were working right.

This entry was posted in Cough/How Do I Look..?. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Allergy Head: The Neti Pot

  1. Allie says:

    You’ll get it. It is a pain at first, but it feels really good when it actually works. It’s all about tipping your head until you find the right angle to get the water to come out of your nostril. And I think since everyone’s noses are built differently it’s hard to say what angle it is. I hope it helps!

  2. Randilin says:

    Sorry to hear about the Allergy they can suck, my wife ended up having an allergic reaction yesterday and had to go to the emergancy room. It made for an interesting afternoon, hopefully the neti pot helps.

    Would be possible for you to add the Pagan Blogger Network logo to your list of links. It will hopefully help drive up interest.

  3. Howling Hill says:

    Hi Randilin,

    I almost wish this attack was worthy of an emergency room visit. But all they’d do is fill me with some sort of pill and send me home. Pills don’t work for me. I was taking and OTC decongestant which worked for about two days then left me even more miserable. The neti pot made me worse I think. Ah, well.

    Somehow I deleted all the links I had under “rings and things” and just never got around to uploading them back. Thanks for the kick in the pants to do so.

  4. Pingback: Allergy Head: Neti Pot Take 2 « Howling Hill

Leave a Reply

