Robin Hood: The Series

Because I’ve been feeling like crap for the last few days all I’ve been doing is watching TV. The Netflix queue has 450 movies and shows as a way to allow me to ignore the misery my sinuses are in.

Robin Hood: The Series is a show which caught my attention. I watched the first six episodes then removed it from the queue. It’s gets a 2 on my scale of 1-10.

The bad guys are so mono-dimensional it’s pathetic. They are so badly written it’s not funny.

This brings me to an important point. I’m been ruminating about this lately: how one dimensional so many characters/shows seem to be. Is it me? Is it the writers? Is it the directors? Producers? Networks?

I like my characters to be well crafted. I like the story to take it’s time to unfold. I don’t want to be thrust into the middle of a story, action blazing, tits poking my eyes out, and guns shooting. Maybe that’s why I like British Period Pieces so much. They take their time in telling the story. While watching the commentary on Firefly, Joss Whedon explained Fox wants it all action all the time. The network would not allow Whedon to tell the story of Firefly more slowly. Why is that?

It’s for these reasons — and a few more — we never got cable. After all, why spend $100/month (or more) for 500 channels and find out there’s still nothing on.

Maybe my standards are too high wanting well crafted patient stories told on film.

This entry was posted in Boob Tube, Film. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Robin Hood: The Series

  1. Allie says:

    You know, it’s interesting, I think this all action all the time thing has actually kind of changed my patience level. I used to really love older movies and now I don’t have the patience as much anymore. I’m sad about that now that I think about it.

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Allie: I agree with you. The same has happened to me and since I’m conscious of it I want to slow down the experience and savor a movie, show, whathaveyou.

    There’s a skill involved with crafting a story slowly. One must keep the reader/watcher entertained with one arc while building upon another. CSI has done this quite well with the arc between Sarah and Gil. It’s one reason I like the show so much.

  3. Pingback: TV Has Become Boring « Howling Hill

Leave a Reply

