We’re Free!

Yesterday when Wolf arrived home from work we let the chickens out of the coop for the first time. They are so damned cute I could eat them! (Well, I will be eating them come fall.)

At first they were really reluctant but slowly each stuck a head out, then a foot, then their whole bodies. I had to entice them down the ladder with chicken scratch (they will eat out of our hands) to get them onto the ground. One, McNugget I think, just would not come out of the coop until Wolf pulled the back of the coop off and put her own to the ground. Then he cleaned the coop up a bit.

Because they came debeaked (which we’re not happy about at all) they are having a hard time eating insects, though hopefully they’ll get the hang of it.

I do have a bunch of pictures on my film camera so it’ll be a few days before I use up the film then take it to be developed.

This morning I let them out again and now they’re just hovering around the yard. Every now and again I go out and remind them I’m here. They seem reluctant to leave their coop which I guess is good.

Eggs around Memorial Day or shortly there after. I hope.

This entry was posted in Chickens. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We’re Free!

  1. Noelle says:

    That’s very exciting, but for the eating them part. Good for you for naming them after the foodstuffs they will eventually become!

  2. Howling Hill says:

    We’ve been told not to name them but I can’t not name something. I mean, Christ, I name all the houses and apartments I’ve lived in!

Leave a Reply

