Maxed Out

So last night Wolf and I watched Maxed Out.

Honestly, it didn’t tell us anything we didn’t already know, and in some cases, victim of. In most documentaries like this it’s easy to tell who the “bad guys” are but in this film the bad guys were not as clear cut nor were the “good guys.”

It depressed us because we realized nothing is going to change anytime soon. I’m glad we don’t have kids because I wouldn’t want them to live in a world which focuses on wealth by any means necessary.

On my scale of 1-10, it was a 4. Maxed Out had some good information but offers no solutions. I did wonder, though, how much credit did the movie makers have to take out in order to create the film?

Oh, and your credit score? It’s wrong, it always is. So is your credit report and FICO score. Mistakes are not corrected and often deliberately placed on your reports and scores on purpose.

And one little nugget of info: when telemarketers call and want to sell me something on credit, I tell them I went to jail for credit card fraud. They NEVER, EVER call back.

This entry was posted in Film. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maxed Out

  1. Noelle says:

    Credit scores are such a mess. Damned if you do, damned if you don’t. And who exactly do you call to get them fixed?

    I saw that movie, too. It was sad about the kids who died, but it made me wonder if there wasn’t something else going on as well. I went through a lot of crap in high school and college that I didn’t tell my parents about. It just seemed a little heavy handed to blame all their problems on credit.

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Noelle: I hear ya on the suicide stuff. But, as someone with shitloads of debt and no job, I understand them thinking suicide is the way out. With everything else going on in their lives, the credit card bills may have been the straw that broke the camel’s back.

Leave a Reply

