Just Some Updates

We’ve been getting at least one egg a day for the last couple weeks though I noticed someone else has started laying. For the last two days we’ve been getting two eggs a day which pleases me.

Buffalo is definitely laying and I think Parm is too. McNugget has shown indications she’s ready to lay if she hasn’t started already. Soup doesn’t seem interested although today she did squat after I pushed her down. It’s the first time she’s done so so that’s a good indication some eggs will be coming from her soon.

The weather has been gray and overcast for the last couple days. The clouds have been low enough to cover us and give a fine mist which covers one’s glasses. Sun just started breaking through for the first time since Saturday. It’s going to be hot and humid when the clouds clear out tomorrow or Wednesday.

The garden is doing quite well. I’ll post some pictures tomorrow or the next day. Everything is growing nicely.

The blackberries, strawberries, and blueberries (all wild) are showing green berries as the flowers die off. This means we’ll have some nice berries in a few weeks. This year we may actually get some blueberries which will be nice. Even if we do, I’ll be heading up to Snowbound to pick some.

I went to the Bristol Farmers Market on Saturday. There were only two vendors there, Doreen (whom we get our eggs from) and Cardigan Mountain Orchards. I got some kielbasa from Doreen (very yummy) but that was it. I’m heading to Plymouth’s market on Thursday to see what they have. Franklin’s won’t be starting for another month at least.

My goal is to get lots of fruits and veggies (what I can’t grow) to can, can, can away for the winter. I have at least 500 canning jars now so there’s no excuse for me not to can my heart out. I want to pick up a turkey fryer and propane tank to do it outside because it’s so effing messy to do so in the house and it gets wicked effing hot in here. Maybe if we have any money left over from the stimulus check I will. Assuming, of course, it gets here before I’m in my grave.

Speaking of canning, I’m doing so right now. I cooked up some spaghetti sauce earlier today and have six jars in the bath now. I still have more sauce to jar up so I’ll be doing this for the rest of the day. Anyone want a jar of Howling Hill’s Kick Ass Spaghetti Sauce? The first two people to comment they do want a jar I’ll mail one out later in the week.

This entry was posted in Canning, Chickens, Community Action, Gardenin', Weatha. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just Some Updates

  1. Noelle says:

    That sounds awesome. I’m all a-twitter to see what comes out of my dirt. And now I think I want pasta for dinner.

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Noelle: You’re the first to comment so you get a jar!

  3. Turtleheart says:

    OOO! Could you get it here safe and sound? I’d love to try some kick-ass pasta sauce!

    I’m sooo jealous you have all the equipment you need for canning. I have nothing, and can’t afford to buy.

  4. Howling Hill says:

    Turtle: It’ll get there, fear not!

    I got the canning stuff from Freecycle and the pot was given to me by my friend’s mother. The only thing I paid for was the pressure canner (it cost almost $100). You should see if you that will work for you!

Leave a Reply

