Garlic

Garlic June 2008

The garlic is doing really, really well!

My questions: will the scapes blossom into flowers? It seems so because there looks like there are small flower buds wanting to come out. Also, at what point do I cut the scapes off so the plant will focus its energy into the bulb to give me the wonderful bulbs I desire so? Lastly, where do I make the cut?

This entry was posted in Gardenin'. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Garlic

  1. So I did a little sluething, and a few places say snip the scapes as soon as they straighten out and start getting little white flower heads…

    However, I also found someone who said that you can snap them off now while they are still tender & curly (otherwise they will get tough and you will have to cut them) and eat them in salads or saute them or use them in pesto!

    Garlic scape pesto

    1 pound garlic scapes
    1 cup grated parmesan cheese
    Olive oil (about 1/2 to 1 cup)
    Pine nuts if available

    Chop the garlic scapes into 3 inch lengths. Put it int he food processor and process until pureed. Add the parmesan and pine nuts and process until smooth. Slowly add the olive oil as the food processor runs and continue until all the oil is combined into the garlic. Store in an air-tight jar in the refrigerator.

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Silverwolf: Thanks! I just finished writing an email to the Garlic Sisters before I noticed your comment.

    The pesto looks as if it’ll be uber yummy. I’ll have to get Wolf to make some!

  3. farm mom says:

    Oh yeah, I’m in scape heaven right now. I LOVE them. No papery skins, no mincing. Just snip with kitchen scissors and add to every dish imaginable!! LOL! :)

  4. Howling Hill says:

    farm mom: is this when I should be cutting the scapes off?

Leave a Reply

