Pay It Forward

There’s a routine I have regarding blogging which I stick to pretty consistently. It goes like this: I get up in the morning and brush my teeth. I do this while walking around the house. Pacing when I brush keeps me from leaving the water running while I brush and keeps the bathroom light off. Usually I walk into the computer room and turn my computer on, go back to the bathroom and finish brushing my teeth.

After I’m done brushing I go through my one million email accounts, login to Howling Hill, then into google reader. It’ll take me at least an hour to read all the blogs I like. After I’m done reading I walk away from the computer so I don’t obsess about the internet and I don’t usually come back to the blog world until the next morning when the routine starts over again.

There is a flaw to this plan, one I’ve known about for sometime. Because I usually get up around 7a, I know I’m up before most of my fellow bloggers because I’m on the East Coast while they live inland. Thus, because I’m often reading blog posts from the day before, I’m, generally, a day behind. This means I often lose out on contests and whatnot.

That’s exactly what happened today. Children in the Corn’s Farm Mom posted this great entry about Pay It Forward. She writes

Well, now it’s my turn to pay it forward. I will make a cross stitch for the first three people who leave a comment here on this post that they want to join. I will have a year in which to complete the projects, but I don’t imagine it will take me that long…..let’s say by christmas at the latest. If you decide you’d like to join, upon recieving your gift from me (and blogging about it), you then have a year to complete your own handmade gifts to the first three people who comment on your blog and want to join. And so the homemade, handmade gifting continues.

By the time I read the post she had her three commenters. I thought “Damn! I want to participate!” then I pouted and threw a temper tantrum and pouted some more.

Ok, I didn’t really but I am bummed because it’s something I’d like to participate in especially since I learned how to knit.

So, since I want to participate but can’t get into Farm Mom’s I’m going to start my own. Any three someones* who wants a knitted something from me (probably a dish rag or pot holder) put their names in the hat (ie comment) and I’ll oblige your request. To maintain consistency with Farm Mom here are the “rules” so to speak.

If you decide you’d like to join, upon receiving your gift from me (and blogging about it), you then have a year to complete your own handmade gifts to the first three people who comment on your blog and want to join. And so the homemade, handmade gifting continues.

So, who’s up?

Oh, and just so you know Noelle and Turtle, I haven’t forgotten about the spaghetti sauce, I don’t don’t have a box to fit the jars yet. I’m working on that.

*Don’t you love making up words?

This entry was posted in Canning, Community Action, Two Sticks and Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pay It Forward

  1. Noelle says:

    It’s been so long since I’ve promised to send stuff to people, I decided I should just wait for the year anniversary.

  2. farm mom says:

    LOL!! Sorry you missed it! It is a great idea isn’t it? Hope you get your three!

  3. Howling Hill says:

    Farm Mom: I’m bummed I missed it too. Doesn’t look as if I’ll be getting three. Or two for that matter!

  4. Pingback: Allie’s Answers » Blog Archive » What’s Going On - Friday

  5. erikka says:

    wait, can I still sign up or is it only three people?

  6. Howling Hill says:

    Erikka: because I *heart* you so, I’ll bend the rules just for you!

  7. Pingback: What’s Going On – Friday

Leave a Reply

