Food Additives Proven to Cause Hyperactivity

Nature Deva wrote this great post about how food additives have been proven to cause hyperactivity in children. Please take a minute to read it.

I’ve talked about my own struggle with the food I can afford to eat and getting an education and how the two are not compatible. I eat better now than I did when I was a student but that’s because I’m not spending $200 a week on gas and instead the money can go to better food.

In the post I linked to above, I stated by my grandmothers were lunch ladies (for the record, so were two of my aunts. I plan on being a lunch lady someday myself to carry on that tradition =). They watched the manner in which the food was prepared change radically. When both Nanas started their jobs in the late 50s to early 60s, the “Girls” (that’s what they called their fellow workers) came in around 6am to start cooking lunch from scratch. By the time Nana C. was fired (for being too old. She and all the other Girls sued, got their jobs back. Nana wouldn’t go back because she didn’t want to work for “that man.”) in the mid-80s, everything she served was preprocessed. Also, she went from being a town employee to an employee of a private company, one which changed hands a number of times before she was fired. I think she was a employee of Stouffer’s in the end, but don’t quote me on that.

So riddle me this: how can the US claim to be a nation which puts their children first when, in fact, they don’t? The US feeds their children poison food every single day. Then medicated them with more poison for obedience sake. Are parents ignorant of what’s going on in the schools their children attend or do they deliberately ignore the signs and symptoms their children exhibit? I’m not a parent so someone who is please enlighten me. And please explain why you send your kid to a school you *know* is feeding them substandard food. Because, you know, I just don’t get it.

On a semi-related note, take a look at this photo spread. Note how there aren’t many veggies on the table of the “Americans.”

This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts, Food, Glorious Food, Mi Familia, Wealthcare. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Food Additives Proven to Cause Hyperactivity

  1. peppylady says:

    I think a lot of us want a fast fix for all of our ills. So give one a pill to fix what may be ailing us. I’m guilty of this
    One of my niece majorly change their diet to mainly “organic” and she notice a major change in one of her children behavior and he even got off his medication for hyperactivity (I know it wasn’t ritlin) but she moved in with this guy who thought people who ate organic was “nuts” and her son had to go back on his meds.
    Not sure what her diet is now but I know she isn’t with this guy any more.

    Any how I post my in know question over at my blog .

    Sorry about having a long comment but I felt it deserve a good comment.

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Peppy: It’s good your niece figured out the issue behind her son’s hyperactivity however it’s too bad she didn’t stick with it.

    Please don’t apologize for leaving long comments. I love long comments!

  3. Jane Hersey says:

    More and more parents are realizing that something is not right, that there’s a connection between food and the problems their children are experiencing.
    That happened to me way back in the 1970s when my daughter’s sometimes irrational behavior and inability to focus was a puzzle to me and everyone who tried to work with her.
    We were lucky to learn that both my daughter’s behavior and my husband’s migraine headaches were being triggered by some of the worst of the synthetic food additives…things that were used less often back in the days when schools actually served food!
    We were also lucky to meet up with other parents who had the same experience and, like us, had found help with the Feingold diet. The diet is surprisingly easy…mostly it involves removing the worst of the synthetic additives.
    Today, after 33 years of helping countless families, the non-profit Feingold Association of the US continues to offer information and support…and in most cases, offers answers! (www.feingold.org)
    Please also take a look at the site: http://www.School-Lunch.org — which does much more than simply tell you what’s wrong with school food. It also tells you what you can do about it. Back in the early 1980s handful of moms forced their county to change the food being served to children. This was a very large county and the food service people were hostile, but they were told to change, and they did.
    Read about how one mom changed the food in her New England town and the children are enjoying wonderful, healthy food, while the schools are saving a great deal of money!
    Most consumers do not realize that they have choices…even in small supermarkets there are plenty of healthy, natural foods. It’s just a matter of learning a few of the tricks the industry would prefer you did not know.
    Jane Hersey, director
    Feingold Association of the US
    author of “Why Can’t My Child Behave?”

  4. Howling Hill says:

    Jane: thank you for the thoughtful response. You gave me a lot to think on and read.

    How did you find Howling Hill?

  5. Jane Hersey says:

    What a nice reply! One of my friends sent me the link to your site and article. It’s great that you are alerting people to the awful things that are being sold as “food.”
    I love to show people how they can find delicious, low cost, wholesome food. We are accustomed to thinking that saving money on food means a diet of Taco Bell and Hamburger Helper, but in actuality, some of the most expensive food is the highly processed food. The only thing in a box of Hamburger Helper that I would want to eat is the 1/2 cup of macaroni. You can buy a whole lot of plain pasta for the cost of one box of the mix. Add in an inexpensive can of crushed tomatoes and some spices, and you come out at the same place, but for much less money.
    I also like to tell folks about the $40/lb Godiva chocolates with the fake vanilla (vanillin) compared to something like natural Ghirardelli chocolates (available at Target, etc) for a fraction of the price.
    The same is true for school food…the awful stuff most schools serve is not only greatly overpriced, but the schools spend a fortune dealing with the behavior and learning problems that result.
    Schools that give children actual food find that the test scores go up and the discipline problems go down.
    But that was way more of an answer than you sought! :o)
    Jane

  6. Markey says:

    Jane knows her stuff. After you go to ADHDdiet.org, go to YouTube -http://de.youtube.com/watch?v=WKlgfxOpNvQ

    and http://de.youtube.com/watch?v=eiD25KxCyc8&feature=related

  7. Howling Hill says:

    Jane: I like complete answers so no worries.

    I’ve seen the movie with that guy that came out last year (ok, maybe you don’t get that movie reference). The one where the guy eats McNarley’s for a month and gets really sick. He interviews lunch ladies and finds out what they’re feeding the kids in their schools and finds the food is substandard despite being provided by the US gov’t. Damn, I can’t think of the name.

    Anyways, the guy goes into a school for delinquents and finds the kids are eating wholesome meals thus, the behavior problems are significantly diminished. That’s when I started to put two and two together and figure out something wasn’t quite right in my own diet.

    Really what I want to know, however, is why parents don’t rebel against the schools. Are the parents ignorant of the food their kids are eating? Do the parents not care? I’m not talking about you because it’s obvious you do know what’s going on. I’m talking about the average Jane and Joe.

    Markey: I’ll take a look at those YouTubes.

  8. bliss says:

    Thank God we home school and thank you for this well written post. Perhaps it will ignite a fire in some.

  9. Howling Hill says:

    Bliss: you’re welcome. Hopefully!

Leave a Reply

