Herbaling

Back in May I posted about making infusions for the first time. Today I strained out the leaves.

Late last month I sent an email to Shamana Flora asking her about the leaves of the berries I infused. Her response about blueberry:

Blueberries are a beautiful bioflavanoid rich fruit which has been beneficial for eye health, and especially good for helping to control blood sugar. Usually the leaves are used for this purpose, due to their chlorogenic acid content, but the fruit also contains it, and is a very low glycemic berry. I almost always recommend that people with blood sugar issues consume blueberries as a very healthful addition to their diet, both for vitamin content, but also for the bioflavanoids and antioxidants to protect their eyes, cardiovascular system and keep blood sugar even.

In the blueberry was a caterpillar. Poor thing. Is it still ok to use the infusion?

Shamana’s response about strawberry:

Strawberry, mostly the leaves have been used as a gentle astringent and tonic for the uterus, helpful in strengthening the uterus in preganncy ( like raspberry leaf) calming diarrhea or flooding menses…but the berry itself isn’t quite the same. it is astringent and sour, and very high in vitamin c, so could be useful anytime someone needs cooling down and if there is any fluids leaking from the body , but the effect will be mild. I would use the leaves more frequently as a tea, rather than a tincture.

Now, I did tincture up all three of the berry leaves but I also infused them. Since I don’t get a lot of actual berries (well, I do with blackberries as they grow wild all around my property) I won’t be able to make a tincture or an infusion. I will, however, go out and pick some more leaves for tea for the winter. However, as much as I love strawberries and blueberries, I’m not a fan of a tea of either of them.

Shamana was awesome enough to make a recommendation to me: Henriette’s Herbals offers classical texts for free.

When the blackberries ripen (still green right now) I’ll be out picking until my fingers bleed. I’d like to make some jams and jellies. It’s almost blueberry time so I’m hoping to get some cash together to go blueberry picking at one of the neighboring farms. In my own yard I was able to pick a grand total of six. Six more than last year!

This entry was posted in Herbalism, In the Yard. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Herbaling

  1. Anon says:

    that’s really cool! I just started some blackberries, raspberries, blueberries and strawberries this year. I’m hoping they take off. It’s been touch and go with some.

  2. Allie says:

    That last comment was me, by the way.

  3. Howling Hill says:

    Allie: it is cool!

    Mine all grow wild so I don’t have to do anything. I’m thinking I need to fertilize the blueberries somehow.

Leave a Reply

