Pay Attention!

People who talk/text on their cell phones while driving make me crazy. The car is not a place to be talking on the phone, texting, or anything but paying attention to the road.

George said Joubert was driving “with the vehicle’s warning lights and directional signal on” when Biddle hit the fire truck. Neither man was injured, but the 2008 Dodge Charger driven by Biddle was seriously damaged. Biddle was charged with negligent driving, State Police said in a statement released Wednesday afternoon.

While I have no idea if the kid who hit the fire truck was on his cell phone it wouldn’t surprise me in the least. Cell phones, as far as I’m concerned, are the bane of our existence. Like guns, they serve no useful purpose. Cell phones, and guns, shouldn’t be manufactured. All designs should be destroyed.

Nothing is so important it can’t wait until you get home. For those of you who think you *need* them I challenge you to explain to me why you chose the word “need” and not “want.” Humans lived for thousands of years without cellphones and did just fine without them. Christ, those of us over thirty didn’t have them when we were growing up and it not having one didn’t scar us.

And don’t use the “emergency” argument with me. Rarely — if ever — do individuals get emergency phone calls on their cells. Cell phones are a pointless distraction. Most of people have them to keep up with the jones’ not because cell phones are necessary. Conformity to the “American” norm, that’s all, not need.

Believe me, there is nothing more annoying then when sitting at someone’s house, or out to dinner, or in a waiting room, and having to listen to cell phone chatter. I mean, really, what makes you think I want to listen to you? And when someone is visiting you in your home, it’s rude to talk on any phone for any length of time.

You know, all you cell phoners are gonna get brain cancer and the wonder how come.

/rant

This entry was posted in Pet Peeves. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Pay Attention!

  1. jayedee says:

    a-freakin-men!

  2. Howling Hill says:

    jayedee: you said it girlfriend!

  3. Noelle says:

    I talk on my cell phone in the car whenever I’m on long drives. I feel like it’s the best use of my time, because a “catch-up with a friend” talk usually takes the hour and 15 minutes it takes me to drive to and from my parents’ house.

    But we’ve got the laws here, and I have to use the headset, and I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve come close to dying while trying to adjust the headset.

  4. Howling Hill says:

    If friends call me while driving, it’s rare I’ll talk to them. Usually I say “call me when you get home.” After all, I don’t want to be an enabler to the cell phone addiction.

    As a general rule, I don’t call friends on their cell phones. Rather, I call their houses. I’ve been getting lax about that lately. Now my commitment is renewed for those who *have* house phones. Increasingly the only way to communicate with individuals is on their cells. I find this a travesty.

  5. Noelle says:

    I only have a cell. I never ever used my house phone when I lived in my old apartment, because each call cost ten cents. When I moved, not getting a house phone seemed like the quickest way to save at least $25 a month.

    I’m part of the 2% of the cell phone only population which is not being taken into account in any kind of national polling data that’s done exclusively over land lines.

  6. Chan says:

    You had me with the driving and not talking/texting on cell phones and then lost me when you went on about the necessity of cell phones.

    In the legal world (my world), it is necessary in this day and age to have a cell phone. Legal problems do not only happen between 8 and 5. Clients expect to be able to get ahold of their counsel 24/7.

    Maybe I am unusual, I do not have a home phone (or internet or cable at home) but when I am on my cell phone for personal use, I am not around other people, in a restaurant, in a store, waiting in line somewhere, in a dr’s office; I am walking the dog, walking 2 miles to work or home from work.

    I agree completely that it’s not safe to talk/text when driving. It also seems that some people have gotten into the “me, me, me” mindset and discuss anything and everything on their cell phones – and don’t care who is around or if their conversation is appropriate or not. I think they don’t have etiquette or are rude inconsiderate people. It’s not the cell phone’s fault. :)

  7. Howling Hill says:

    Noelle: I see this becoming the trend and I think it’s tragic. No one needs to be on call 24/7.

    That being said, Chan, there must be times when you do shut off your phone, when you have “me” time. Every job which has encouraged met to get a cell phone I’ve adamantly refused to. Unless absolutely required to do so, I won’t, won’t, won’t have one. And then the company has to pay the bill and I’m shutting it off once I leave the office. I will not be at the whim of a cell phone — or someone on the other end — all day, every day.

    The legal community, emergency services, and health care providers all functioned well without cell phones. I don’t think any of them would cease to exist if cell phones were eliminated.

    You’re right it’s not the cell phone’s fault, it’s the person’s fault for talking in a waiting room. I’ve taken to singing out loud (in my incredibly off key voice) or talking loudly while sitting next to the person on the cell. If they can be rude and annoying so I can.

    Then, of course, it’s not the cell phone’s fault when someone gets in an accident and kills another.

    I see them as a distraction, a way to show one’s wealth, and a complete waste of time and money, not to mention plastic. I find the commercials for such to be abhorrent. The commercials all talk about the “power” you will have if you get a cell phone. I think the only power you have with one is … um … I can’t think of anything. Wait! I got one: the power to annoy others.

  8. Chan says:

    That’s a great idea about the singing! Can I steal that idea from you and use it? :)

    Unfortunately, I don’t often turn off my Blackberry. It’s a requirement of the firm I work for, I knew it when I was hired, and they pay the for the unit/service. We have 3 hours to return calls and answer emails.

    Short Hijack: One associate went to Aspen for a 5 day ski trip and had to take his with him. He was told he must check his email and voice mail every few hours and take care of business as well, as the clients were depending on him and the Courts don’t care if you are on vacation or not.

    Law’s kind of a crazy field and you have to be kind of a hyper-dedicated person and give up a lot of your “me” time, but you’re compensated well for it and speaking only for myself, I find it to be worth it in the end.

  9. Allie says:

    Biking lately, I’ve been really annoyed by people who stand or walk while talking too. The bike path is no place for phone calls people! Or texting. Stand off to the side to do that! Geez!

  10. Howling Hill says:

    That would annoy me too Allie.

Leave a Reply

