Junk Mail

Yesterday Wolf ran into the post office to pick up the mail. He came out with two Netflix envelopes and a bill. He said “I can’t believe this is all we got.”

Over the last few years, I’ve been putting a lot of effort into cutting down on the amount of crap mail we receive. Usually I call catalog companies up and request my name (or his. Or his mother’s) be removed from their list. It takes a couple months but eventually the catalogs cease coming. And now we can really see the results of all the phone calls I’ve made over the last four years.

There’s a few I can’t figure out how to stop, like the grocery store fliers and the like. Usually I don’t bring them out of the post office rather, I put them into the recycle bin next to the PO Boxes. The only exception is if something has one of our names on it then I bring it home and shred it (we shred everything with our names on it).

There is, of course, another way to do this: 41 Pounds.

The average adult receives 41 pounds of junk mail each year. Our service stops 80-95% of unwanted catalogs and junk mail for you. We’ll contact dozens of companies on your behalf to STOP YOUR JUNK MAIL and PROTECT THE ENVIRONMENT.

Had I known about this service before I started the phone calling, I would’ve signed up for it.

This entry was posted in Organizations, Saving Our Glorious Earth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

