Is Banning Fast Food the Answer?

Wolf and I don’t eat fast food per se, though we do eat what I call “medium food.” Medium food is sit down places like Chili’s which still sells crappy food but we justify it because, well, there’s no drive through. We don’t eat a lot of medium food, I’d say maybe twice a month. Mostly this has to do with our finances, or rather, lack there of.

I advocate for the closure of McNarley’s and other eateries which serve craptastic food but I don’t think it can be done in a vacuum. That is, if fast food joints are closed because of the health risks of the food then I think medium food places should also be closed. I also think all restaurants should serve locally grown foods, in season, from respectful farmers. I do acknowledge this is such a lofty ideal it’s more likely women will have a constitutional right to abortion before this happens.

Accolades should go out to Councilwoman Jan Perry for proposing a moratorium of new fast food joints in Los Angles.

The ordinance proposed by Councilwoman Jan Perry would stop new fast-food restaurants from opening in the area for up to two years while the city establishes a long-term plan to deal with the restaurants that have been linked to health problems.

I have to agree with some of the proponents though.

But some in the restaurant industry criticized the moratorium proposal, which would only permit full-service, sit-down restaurants to open, as misguided.

After all, McNarley’s could open a new joint and make it a sit down only type place or an abundance of Outback Steakhouses may dot the landscape instead of Booger Kings.

Is banning fast food the answer?

This entry was posted in Corporations, Food, Glorious Food, Politic/ians. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Is Banning Fast Food the Answer?

  1. maggie says:

    I don’t think banning anything is the answer. I think the answer is for people to take personal responsibility.

  2. If you ban nasty fast food, then do you ban junk food at the grocery store? Then what? All of a sudden Big Brother has his hand in our decision making again, which to me is worse than the availability of the cheap, crappy food.

    Yes, this country is unhealthy as a whole. But it is not just what we eat – it is lack of excersize, breathing canned air day in and day out, smoking, living stressfull lifestyles without learning to relax/meditate etc. etc. etc.

    And those are personal choices. I vote against banning and for education. People can make their (educated) decisions and figure it out for themselves. Fast food only survives because people choose to buy it; if they chose not to then the McNarley’s & Booger Kings would disappear!

    Or people could choose to be fat, unhealthy and live with that as well… Their choice!

  3. Howling Hill says:

    Maggie and Silverwolf: I agree and disagree at the same time. It’s an issue I’m conflicted on.

    I guess I question why crap foods are manufactured in the first place. We all know the food is bad for us but we eat it anyways. While I’ve been good about eliminating processed food out of my diet there are still a few I eat (mostly french fries from hannaford).

    What the correct answer is eludes me. Part of me thinks “well, if it isn’t available then no one will eat it.” The other part thinks “it’s a personal choice.” However, I know many people buy the food they can afford and often it’s processed foods not healthy, fresh foods.

  4. tinydr says:

    more problematic to me, and something that needs to be dealt with across the board, is the widespread use of non-foods like transfats… not to mention the glut of other non-foods that the FDA allow processors to use in food products due to convenience and economics.

  5. Howling Hill says:

    tinydr: I agree the transfats are a big issue. But the way I see the industry solving the problem of transfats are to make the same crap foods without the transfat.

  6. Gina says:

    I’d love to say yes to the banning, but so much of our income is derived from fast food despite our (ok, my) reluctance to eat it. And so many young and other people depend on fast food for jobs. it’s a tough call.

    When I was a girl, my mom would take my younger brother and I to Burger Chef maybe once or twice a MONTH. It was a treat. In modern days, I think McCrappy and Co serve as one or more meals a week. We need to get over our personal addictions and make it a treat again.

    It would be nice to have an option for fresh, local foods and not live in one of the popular cities (although,on that note I noticed at Richards-a medium food restaurant-that they now mark some of their foods in the menu as Indiana local).

  7. Howling Hill says:

    Gina: whose income do you mean?

    It was the same when I was a kid. Going to McNasty’s was a rare treat. And pizza, pizza was even more rare since it was more expensive than McNasty’s.

    Maybe I wouldn’t be so opposed to crap food if more of it was local and from reputable local growers and merchants. But I think that defeats the purpose of McNastys…

Leave a Reply

