Ark Building

Over the course of the last month we’ve gotten rain just about every day. Usually it’s a short burst of intense rain but rain nonetheless. It’s as if we moved to Florida only it hasn’t been uber hot and humid like it is in Florida. Wolf said he’s going to start building an ark because it’s getting pretty soggy around here. (Did you know Noah’s Ark has been found? Here’s some info on the flood itself)

The squashes do not like this rain. Despite getting all kinds of flowers in bloom, which are being pollinated, no squashes have appeared. No zucchini, pumpkin, blue hubbard, summer, or red kuri. I’m really, really bummed because I *heart* squash.

The tomatoes and cucumbers seem to be fine, though. This makes me happy. Even the melons seem to enjoy this weather though only one plant has flowered.

This has been a tough year weather wise. First we had a dry spring and now we’re having a wet winter to make up for the dry spring.

I made dilly beans with the pile of green beans I got the other day. I got two jars.

This is the first time I’ve made dilly beans so here’s to hoping A.) they’re good and B.) I like them. I did mess up a little bit. The recipe called for a 10 minute bath in boiling water but I gave the jars 20 minutes because the first ten the water wasn’t actually boiling. Ah, well, life goes on.

Wolf will be making blueberry stuff with the blueberries we picked yesterday. He’s going to make jam and (I hope!) a cobbler. Also, I think he’s going to be freezing a bunch of the blueberries so we can have some in the winter. Freeze in glass jars as Women Not Dabbling in Normal suggest.

Speaking of which, you have no idea of the relief I feel knowing I can put glass in the freezer. I *hate* using plastic, especially after I make soup, stew, or broth. I know the heat from the food makes the plastic release its toxins but I couldn’t think of another way to freeze all the soups, etc. I was making.

Canning broth seems to be beyond difficult. Maybe I don’t have the “right” books but those which I do have seem to say “you’ll die if you eff it up so don’t bother.” This is why I freeze in plastic. But now I know I don’t have to! Yea! Glass in the freezer, who knew?

This entry was posted in Canning, Gardenin', Other Animals, Other Faiths, Weatha. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ark Building

  1. tara says:

    Make sure you use jars with no ‘shoulders’ to freeze. There is a style that is tapered, with no rounded shoulders. Those are the jars that are made to freeze. You might have no problem with regular jars, but when there is a specific kind of jar that is designed for hot or cold, why not use the right kind?

    May all of your freezing and canning be wonderful!!

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Tara: I’m not sure what you mean by “shoulder.” Trying to clarify.

  3. peppylady says:

    I thought I would let you know I did my first fitday monthly report over on my blog.
    I’m tired heading to bed and I’ll catch up on your blog later.

  4. Pingback: Zucchini Ideas « Howling Hill

Leave a Reply

