Junk Food

After watching King Corn last month we cannot bring ourselves to put high fructose corn syrup into our bodies. It’s not easy to avoid HFCS but Wolf has been doing an excellent job reading labels and not buying food which has HFCS in it.

Our routine is to eat dinner then veg in front of the tube for the length of a movie then go to bed (yes, we go to bed early). It’s during this time we want ice cream for the “comfort food” feelings it induces. After all, our bodies know they are winding down for the day and want some soft, sweet, creamy food to facilitate that process (think because we were breastfed by our mothers? It wouldn’t surprise me in the least). Wolf always desires chocolate ice cream (or, rather, chocolate in any form) while I want vanilla with some sort of nut.

Chips were always a back up of sorts. If there was no ice cream in the house we “settled” for potato chips, especially corn chips to make nachos with (warm cheese is akin to cold ice cream in the “comfort food” realm). I, myself, have always been a potato chip fiend in that I cannot eat one. Kinda like a margarita. I cannot drink them responsibly and I can’t eat chips responsibly. Instead of turning into an alcoholic I quit drinking (everything not just margaritas) and I did the same with chips. I just quit. I just said “NO!” Nancy would be proud.

At my request Wolf is still buying pretzels but I don’t gobble and binge on pretzels like I do on chips. I would prefer if Wolf made the pretzels but alas, store bought must suffice until we win the lottery and Wolf stops working and can spend all his life in the kitchen (nice run-on sentence, hu?). I like something salty and crunchy with my daily tuna sandwich something Nana instilled in me.

Overall I’m quite pleased with our progress. I’ve been able to hold myself in check and not eat junk food when offered, though I did stare at whatever’s being served a lot because I really, really wanted just a nibble. But I know I can’t have a nibble. I cannot eat crap food. I can’t eat it in moderation. I know this. I just have to overcome the desire. It’ll be easier and easier as time goes on like it is when other smoke around me (I quit smoking 6 years ago). And I’ll feel better.

I’ve still not started running like I promised myself I would but I’m not beating myself up about it. Cutting out the crap food is a significant step toward a healthy me body and soul. And there’s one thing I’ve learned about myself: I need time. Change comes slowly with me. It takes me a long time to adapt and I just have to be patient with myself. The running will come when I’m ready. Besides, I’m much better about stopping than starting.

This entry was posted in Cough/How Do I Look..?, Food, Glorious Food. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Junk Food

  1. Noelle says:

    I just ate lunch, but now I’m hungry.

  2. peppylady says:

    I’m trying to have a healthier life style whatever that means.

    But talking about high fructose corn syrup. I went and got some clam veggie juice thinking it was health and I was surprise one of the top ingredients was HFCS.

    I just finish my push-up and retest this morning.

  3. Howling Hill says:

    Peppy: HFCS is sneaky like that that’s why reading labels is so important.

Leave a Reply

