We’re Back!

Wolf and I had a lovely vacation in Maine. For the first time in six years it didn’t rain! Sky was a brilliant blue the whole time, Sun warm and lovely on our skin. Both of us got a little burnt but after 45 days of rain here in NH we didn’t really mind the burns.

Mistress Moon rose out of Ocean the first night we were there. Though we didn’t get to see her birth from her saline cavern on that first night, the second night we did. And how beautiful she was! Yellow and orange, big and full coming right out of the sea. Nothing is better than watching Ocean give birth to Moon.

Venus showed her green/blue beauty during the evening too. I know there were other planets and constellations but I don’t know them very well. About all I can recognize is Mars and Venus.

The only dark cloud was when we got home. We found someone had been in the house and took some stuff: my iPod, a bucket of change, a stop watch and a buck knife. We also found someone had built a fire in our fire pit. We called the police but have yet to hear back from them. Needless to say I’m angry and depressed about the incident. I feel very violated and upset my trust was taken for granted. Whomever came into my house I have this to say: You’re a fucking jerk. And what comes around goes around. You’ll get yours.

Moving along, before I left Maine I went and picked a couple pounds of rosehips. I looked at my Joy of Cooking and found this little blurb about rosehip jelly: “wait to collect the hips until after the first frost.” Oops. I didn’t know that. I don’t want to waste all the hips so what’s your opinion? Should I use them or not? Originally I picked them to make tea out of but now I can’t find a recipe. Anyone?

Wolf and I went out to breakfast this morning and saw many of the trees are starting to turn. Sigh. This has been such a cool-temperature summer that it makes me nervous for this winter, especially since it was so horrid. Before I left I found two summer squash in the garden which I picked and took with us. When we came back yesterday I found two more are starting to grow. Now that the early leaves are turning I hope the squash will be ok. That is, I hope we don’t get an early frost.

The beans are doing well. I have tons of them which I’ll be making into dilly beans later today. I made some before we left which we ate on the beach. The dilly beans were really, really yummy. Wolf said he’d go out and pick some more beans when he’s finished cocking the bathroom tub. Again.

Wolf and I just finished taking an inventory of our jars, lids, bands, and rubber rings. Honestly I thought I had more than I do but we should be ok. I just wish, however, there were less varieties and choices. I like symmetry so it makes it hard for me to decide what to use and what not to. Most of what I have are wire jars which I don’t like to give away so I’ve been picking up “regular” jars whenever I got to the store.

Angie, I have your cherry syrup to send out but I’m going to until I have more stuff to put into the box. It’s the only box I have which will fit the size container you wanted and I can’t justify sending it out with only two jars in it so you’ll be getting a care package from me. It’ll take me a little while to make up 10 more pints of yummies for your family. But I promise it’ll be there before the new year =). For those interested, I do have more cherry syrup to trade. I have two 4 ounce jars, and five 8 ounce jars.

Oh, and before I forget, someone critter, probably a deer, came along and ate the tops of my beans closest to the fence. I had a chuckle over it because the beans have been sitting there all along and just now we have some eaten. I know the deer have been traspeing through the yard all summer because I see their tracks to maybe one got adventurous and had a nibble.

This entry was posted in Bad People, Canning, Faith, Food, Glorious Food, Gardenin', Moons, Night Sky, Other Animals, Pages, Trade and/or Barter, Weatha. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to We’re Back!

  1. Gina says:

    Hey, HH, a perfect box is coming your way. I finally got it packed and ready to go tomorrow! Forgive my slowness, I was waiting on one thing I wanted to include! Please let me know if you like the things.

    Oh, and I would use the rosehips. They are still full of Vit. C so maybe think of making a tincture for winter colds or definitely save them for tea.

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Gina: I look forward to the box!

    What’s a good way to dry the hips for tea, do you know?

  3. Erikka says:

    Hey there. I heard drying rose hips is as easy as leaving them on a cookie sheet until they are…all dried up! Definitely use them, I’m sure they will be just as tasty and health-full in tea.

    I am really sorry to hear about someone violating your trust and breaking into your home. How sad. One good thing – it doesn’t sound like they took everything and the kitchen sink…though what they did take could have been like your all time favorite stuff. I must be naive to wish that some day when I own a home, I could leave the doors unlocked…in this day and age, probably not.

  4. Erikka says:

    ps. more info –

    Rose hips may be used fresh or dried. To dry them, discard any with discoloration then rinse in cold water, pat dry, and spread on a wax paper-lined cookie sheet. It takes a couple of weeks for them to dry. They will be darker in color, hard, and semi-wrinkly. Rub off any stems or remaining blossom ends. Pour them into jars for storage in a dark pantry or cupboard.

  5. Howling Hill says:

    Erikka: that’s what I’ll do then. I have about two pounds so I suspect it’ll take a little time for them to dry. But that’s ok!

  6. Gina says:

    Hi!

    Do you have a gas oven? If so I would just put them on a pie plate or cookie sheet and leave them in there with the pilot light for a few days. They’ll dry quickly. If not, you could put them in an open bag (like a nylon bag or such) and hang them near a dry area (like a closet). Just watch them closely for signs of mold and remove any that get that way.

    I sent the box off. I sent it delivery confirmation, so sorry if you have to sign for it. I wasn’t thinking!

  7. Howling Hill says:

    Hi Gina,

    Yes we have a gas oven but it’s a new-fangled one so there’s no pilot light. Right now I have them out on the counter. Assuming the effing ants don’t take over they should be fine.

    No biggie on the signature. I can’t wait to see what’s in the box!

Leave a Reply

