Accomplishments

Peppylady asked this question over at her blog:

What have or haven’t you accomplished in your life?

I’ve accomplished some of my long term goals:

  1. Found a good, loving, compassionate man who loves me for who I am.
  2. Bought a house
  3. Got two college degrees

But I haven’t accomplished other things I’ve very much desired:

  1. I don’t have a farm
  2. I don’t have a career
  3. I don’t have autonomy
  4. I don’t have financial independence
  5. I’ve not been to Tristan Da Cunha
  6. I’ve not made peace with my demons

2, 3, 4 in the second should be combined but… they also need to be seperate. At this point I’m not sure a career, autuomony, and financial independence are feasible goals. Not being able to find a job after almost a year of joblessless is spirialing me into a deep, deep depression. And with winter looming I fear for my mental health during The Dark Time (Mabon to Yule).

This entry was posted in Cough/How Do I Look..?, Meme Fun, Wheel of the Year. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Accomplishments

  1. peppylady says:

    Thanks for answering my question once again.

    To me your number one accomplishment “found a good, loving, compassionate man who loves me for who I am.” is a great one.

    I don’t mean to sound stupid but what is autonomy.

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Autonomy means independence and freedom. I don’t feel I have any because I’m still dependent on someone else to feed, clothe, and house me.

    The goals I have accomplished are great goals. And finding a mate who respects and cares for me is awesome. I just wish I wasn’t such a burden to him. Feeling like a burden makes me sad. And that makes him sad.

  3. Meadowlark says:

    This is my first visit (from Women not Dabbling in Normal) and your first accomplishment is truly a major one. I’ve been married 23 years and it’s only in the last 6 months that he has truly started to accept me for ME, not trying to make me into something more socially acceptable. (Yes, I’m fairly stubborn and stayed!)

    Being loved for who you are allows you the room to do/try/fail/whatever at all those others. And it’s OK, because YOU’RE OK.

    ~Peace to you in your endeavors :)

  4. Howling Hill says:

    Meadowlark: Thanks for coming to visit! Come back often!

Leave a Reply

