Vacation Pictures

As you all know we were in York Maine last week. Wolf and I go every year not only to sit on the beach and relax away a year of stress but also to celebrate our anniversary. This year marks six years of marriage. Our marriage has lasted longer than 50% marriages in the US Well, maybe not 50% but it seems close.

The weather was just perfect the whole time Wolf and I were in York which is a change from previous years. Except the year we got married it’s rained for our vacation every year. This doesn’t discourage us from going. Mostly what we want is the relaxation time and, for me, my yearly lobster.

Nubble Point August 2008 (2)

Nubble Point.

The point has really been built up in the last few years with two million dollar homes right on the rocks.

Seagull Prints August 2008 (2)

The tide schedule was pretty decent while we were there. It was high during the after noon and low as Sun went down. The soft, wet sand made for wonderful prints. These are a seagulls.

August 2008

Wolf and I being uber cute.

August 2008 (3)

Neither of us wrote this but we shared the sentiment.

Big Bellys York Maine 2008

York is experimenting with solar trash compactors. This is the first time I’ve seen them. The text reads:

In an effort to improve efficiency and keep our beaches as clean and environmentally correct as possible the Town of York is experimenting with some innovative green technology.

Please help us test these solar powered trash compactors by depositing bottles and cans and in the appropriate containers and putting only trash in the big bellys.

It is unlawful to leave trash anyplace than the containers provided.

I took this picture early in the afternoon when the tide was still coming in. By the end of the day the bellys were full as were the recycling containers so trash was placed on the ground in front of the containers. This led me to believe no enough trash containers were available for the amount of trash accumulated. Also, this was the only place I saw the Big Bellys.* There are lots of “regular” trash barrels along the sidewalk but they too were full by the end of the day. And still there’s lots of trash on the beach.

I do think this is a great start and I hope the Big Bellys program is successful. I’d love to see more next year when we go up.

Mistress Moon was full. Wolf and I watched ascend from the saline womb of Ocean which was so beautiful. And we got to see Venus. I tried to take some pictures but they didn’t come out because I didn’t have my tripod with me. My hands are too shaky to hold the camera still in low light.

*It drives me nuts the name isn’t Big Bellies.

This entry was posted in Moons, Night Sky, Saving Our Glorious Earth, Traveling Woman. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Vacation Pictures

  1. Love the shadow pic of you two together… hope you had an amazing time!

  2. peppylady says:

    I don’t know what is it about Maine but it place I want to visit and of course if I get there. I’ll stop by and meet wolf and you.
    But I wouldn’t hold my breath on it.

    Murphy and Ive got twenty years in and lived together 5 years before that.
    I have to admitt the first part or a least the first seven year we gave each other pure hell. I’m guilty of too.

    The coffee is always on.

  3. Howling Hill says:

    Silverwolf: we had a great time!

    Peppy: I know what you mean. Wyoming has always had the same draw for me and I have no idea why.

    You’re always welcome to look us up. But I know you won’t be traveling out this way unless you win the lottery so start playing!

  4. Allie says:

    Oooh! I remember going out there years and years and years ago. So beautiful! Glad you had such a great time!

  5. Howling Hill says:

    Allie: it is beautiful if built up. We did have a great time!

  6. Pingback: CSA Week 9 « Howling Hill

  7. Pingback: CSA Weeks 9 & 10 « Howling Hill

Leave a Reply

