Migraine

On Tuesday September 2, 2008 at about 12:15 am (almost 24 hours ago) we got a call. Wolf and I responded with the Fire Department. By the time the call was over and done with and we were done with the paperwork it was 2am. We put ourselves to bed. Both of us had a hard time falling asleep but eventually we did.

For the last few months I’ve been getting up at 8a which is an hour later than I like to get up. While we were on vacation I mentioned to Wolf I wanted to start getting up at 7a again and asked he call me when get first gets to work to wake me up. Because of the late night call last night he let me sleep until 8:30a. I didn’t sleep well but I did sleep.

I got up and ran and was all energized but it was short lived. The interruption in my sleep schedule left me drained and tired so I laid down for a nap. I’m a bad napper though. Whenever I lay down for one the whole time my brain is thinking you’ll never get to sleep. You have to get back up soon. You’re going to eff up your sleep schedule. If you fall asleep you won’t wake up. Usually I set my alarm to make sure I get up but I’m usually up before the alarm because my brain won’t shut down to really enjoy the nap. Today was no exception. And because today was no exception I was really groggy and headachy when I got back up to the point where I realized it was a mistake to lay down in the first place.

I had to go to Concord for a meeting at 4:30 and on the way down I noticed a headache coming on. Through the whole meeting it got worse and by the time I was on my way home it was turning into a migraine. Migraines with me are brought on by fatigue often times coupled with hunger. I got home and asked Wolf to make me a turkey burger. Not that I particularly like turkey burgers but it was fast and easy and I just wanted to put something in my stomach so I could take some pain relief then go to bed which is exactly what I did. I fell asleep for a couple hours, got up and took some more pills, indulged in some married person activity which often “heals” my migraines, then tried to go back to sleep to no avail. Now I’m up and it’s 11:30 at night. I should be sleeping.

It’ll take me a couple days to get back into my routine. Damn.

This entry was posted in Cough/How Do I Look..?, Fire Department. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Migraine

  1. Meadowlark says:

    Hope you feel better and get back on your sleep schedule.

    PS… I laughed out loud at the concept of “married person activity that heals”. teee heee

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Meadowlark: Thanks! I am feeling way better but still my sleeping schedule is all effed up. I’ll get it back to normal.

    That’s not to say I didn’t participate in this particular healing activity before I was married and I don’t condone those who do so unmarried. I was just trying to be discrete. It’s a new look for me. Do I look ok in it?

  3. Meadowlark says:

    LOL.
    NO!!! Get rid of discrete. It’s TOTALLY overrated!

    We are in a family that had a member working 4 on- 4 off. (2 6a-6p, then flipflop to 2 6p-6a, then 4 days off) It was a nightmare. I am a firm believed in sleep disruption being related to many healthy risks. Luckily, life made a major turnaround and we’re a M-F, 8-5-ish family now. Except when the pager rings ;)

  4. Howling Hill says:

    I’m not a fan of the 2 day/2 night schedule either. Most places are moving away from it because of the documented health risks but you find a few hold overs here and there. I’d like to be 8-4 M-F but I can’t imagine that happening anytime soon.

    I take it you’re on your local fire department also?

  5. Meadowlark says:

    Bang! Bang! Bang!
    :)

    And not me… I produce outdoor tv and radio for a living.

  6. Howling Hill says:

    Ah, cop.

    You’re job sounds pretty cool. Tell me, what does a producer do?

  7. Meadowlark says:

    Associate producer. I herd the cats ;)
    Pretty much, I make sure the talent, the camera crew, the host, the sponsor all get along, play nice, do what they’re paid to do and get the job done on time and on target. oops…that’s my old life. On time and on budget.

    And then I spend 70% of my day surfing for outdoor related news stories. Sometimes I accidentally stumble onto non-outdoor sites. ;)

  8. Pingback: Doing Not Thinking Update 3 « Howling Hill

Leave a Reply

