McCain: Two Timer

I had no idea

McCain likes to illustrate his moral fibre by referring to his five years as a prisoner-of-war in Vietnam. And to demonstrate his commitment to family values, the 71-year-old former US Navy pilot pays warm tribute to his beautiful blonde wife, Cindy, with whom he has four children.

But there is another Mrs McCain who casts a ghostly shadow over the Senator’s presidential campaign. She is seldom seen and rarely written about, despite being mother to McCain’s three eldest children.

And yet, had events turned out differently, it would be she, rather than Cindy, who would be vying to be First Lady. She is McCain’s first wife, Carol, who was a famous beauty and a successful swimwear model when they married in 1965.

Please go read the whole article. It’s appalling what McCain did to his first wife.

And don’t expect to hear Palin talking to the press. She refuses to meet with the press.

According to Nicole Wallace of the McCain campaign, the American people don’t care whether Sarah Palin can answer specific questions about foreign and domestic policy. According to Wallace — in an appearance I did with her this morning on Joe Scarborough’s show — the American people will learn all they need to know (and all they deserve to know) from Palin’s scripted speeches and choreographed appearances on the campaign trail and in campaign ads.

What’s most sad is I *can* believe these two are the Republican choices. Sad state of affairs.

I want to know this: why don’t the Vice Presidential picks have to answer to the public the way the Presidential picks to? I spent all last fall following the candidates around New Hampshire asking them all kinds of questions on the Iraq War and terrorism. Why don’t the VPs have to trump the way the Ps did? Why aren’t the VPs held to the same standard? Why don’t we get to question them about their policies and belief systems?

This entry was posted in Politic/ians. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to McCain: Two Timer

  1. Gina says:

    i am going to say this here because one, I know you will see the humor in it and two, you stand against these scary picks as I do.

    Why do we not see that as a military leader we ever consider that he got caught? I mean HE-GOT-CAUGHT.

    Check out the link I posted on my blog (found on another blog), scary, scary.

    Sadly, I think people are going to vote for these two because the younger daughter used spit to smooth her baby brother’s hair down.

    once again, I suppose we should brace ourselves for another 4 years of darkness (that will no doubt spiral into more).

    Sorry for the pessimism. It’s my nature.

  2. Howling Hill says:

    I really, really want to move to a small island nation.

  3. Meadowlark says:

    I dropped by to say that I am also appalled at how McCain treated his first wife. However, I know I must have mis-read Gina’s response: Why do we not see that as a military leader we ever consider that he got caught? I mean HE-GOT-CAUGHT.

    I may not like McCain, and I may think it was deplorable that he dumped his first wife after she waited for him, but surely you’re not saying that if he was “Good” at being military than he wouldn’t have been captured? That TOTALLY cannot be what you meant. Surely you have a little better understanding of jets and surface to air missles? WTF? I must be reading that wrong. Yes, I know “HUMOR” which makes it ok to say anything. (Does it really?)

    Gina, help me get a better grip on that. I was a Marine and there is a part of me that just goes ballistic at such a notion that if one is “good enough” one won’t become a POW. You may not think the man will be a good president (I think both sides are going to run our country into the ground, so it doesn’t matter who gets elected – we’re screwed) but shouldn’t there be some line that shouldn’t be crossed, even in humor? (if not, shall I tell the one about the little boy and the game of “grab the roll of coins in neighbor-guys pocket”? I didn’t think so. There are some lines that are just too far.)

    OK, go ahead and shoot at me. I’m braced for it.

  4. Gina says:

    I didn’t put my comment on your blog, right? And, as a pacifist, I think military is wrong. Very wrong. Running a country just because you are some sort of war hero (did he save someone? No, others saved him) just help us in any way. Most of us do not know about missles and jets. My comment is not to bash military people (my dad was a wounded vet and I went to college on that and my brother retired from the military and got cancer from the nuclear subs he worked on), what I am saying is that this man keeps using this experience as reasons to be a leader. A LEADER. I don’t think his military experience qualifies him. And, if it does, then where are the other men. What about the ones that did write something bad about America just to get home to America to see their family. Which should you put first family? or Pride? It has nothing to do with being “good enough” as you are saying. I guess his military buddies weren’t good enough to be prez. I really don’t care if you tell the quarters in the pocket joke because if that is your opinion, well, it’s your opinion. I am sorry you took offense by my opinion, but I take offense by war and the fact we pick our leaders based on war experience (for the most part; if we are not picking them because we’d like to have a beer with them). The is much hurt in this world and it makes me sick this guy is flaunting his capture as reason to be prez of us. I guess I am saying this: he was not the leader behind that incident in vietnam (he was simply one of the caught), so why use it as a political arsenal?

    Oh, and it is not a “good enough”/POW thing. That was not what I meant. I was referring to all the comments his buddies were making about how “he was saved because he had more to do…” Bullsh*t. So, I guess the ones that died or went crazy because of the torture and mental distress were just so McSame could be prez. In fact, if I can’t cross a line that way, why does he and every other vet and GOP buddy get to cross it the other way and use the experience as a platform for prez? These are my opinions and I am sorry to take space here HH. Everyone is entitled to their opinions (isn’t that what military is fighting for?) and this one is mine.

    This is the last I will speak of it, because my heart is already set. I just hate hearing “how the stars are aligned and the time is right because a military hero was saved, blah, blah, blah…”
    Mental illness in Viet evets is rampant, from waht I hear, and I guess because he was “better” than the others he gets to push his values on the rest of us.

    Thank you for serving in the U.S. military. It takes a brave person, IMHO. However, I don’t think that makes you better than any other American. I don’t think being a POW makes him better. Just unfortunate.

    And, I too believe we have no qualified candidates.

  5. Gina says:

    Last thing I promise, HH!

    I actually said that with no humor what-so-ever. I meant it dead serious. Getting caught does not make you a leader.

  6. Gina says:

    Oops, hope I didn’t use any -isms! I did respond to her questions (and rant).

    You may remove my comments as well (I won’t be offended. I do sometimes feel if you are not pro-military, your opinion means sh*t).

  7. Howling Hill says:

    Gina: as you know everyone has the right to speak their opinion here on Howling Hill just so long as there’s no name calling or -isms. And you did fine!

  8. Meadowlark says:

    Actually Gina and HH, I don’t think the POW thing makes him qualified to be president either.

    I don’t think any of the people running are qualified, except perhaps a third party candidate, and I guess I already know THAT’S not going to happen.

    Gina, you really are entitled to your opinion, and I don’t even really disagree with it. I just wasn’t sure of your meaning and I really appreciate that you took the time to explain your reasons. Come to find out, we actually do sorta feel the same way on parts of it.

    Peace to you and sorry if I sounded belligerent. (Fairly common for these days!)

  9. Howling Hill says:

    No apology necessary! Here you have the right to voice your opinion in any manner you want jsut so long as there’s no name calling.

  10. Gina says:

    Meadowlark: Peace to you too. I hope I wasn’t too harsh. I know it is not a popular opinion and I put it here because I know HH appreciates a “left of center” opinion (although I am not saying she agrees with me or anything, LOL!!)

    I do respect you especially because you served in the military and still developed your own “less popular” opinions about the world. I fear the military/war because I birthed boys (not to say girls couldn’t be drafted as well). My heart would be broken beyond repair if I lost a child to war.

Leave a Reply

