Pickle Recipes

Last week Meadowlark asked for some recipes in this post. I’m not feeling up to writing up a whole ton of recipes so I cut and pasted some pickle recipes I sent to Erikka in August.

Fresh-Pack Dill Pickles

17ish pounds Cucumbers
9 cups Water
6 cups White Vinegar
3/4 Kosher Salt (or pickling salt though they’re the same thing)
1/4 cup Sugar
2 tablespoons Whole pickling spice in a mesh bag (like a tea bag or some cheese cloth)
2 teaspoons per quart jar Mustard Seed
1-2 cloves per quart jar Garlic
3 heads per quart jar Dill
1 tablespoon per quart jar Dill Seed

Wash cucumbers and cut.

Combine vinegar, salt, sugar, water, and mixed picking spices and heat to boil. Add mustard seed, dill, and garlic to each jar. Pack cukes into clean, hot quart jars (if you want to use pint jars that’s fine just cut the cukes to fit the jar and adjust the spices to your taste). Pour boiling liquid into jars leaving 1/2 inch head space. Process in BOILING WATER for 20 minutes. Remove jars and complete seals. Let cool on a wire rack.

If you want you can make the brine (above) and soak the cukes overnight.

Dilly Beans (I *heart* dilly beans!)
4 pounds Green beans, whole
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper per pint jar (I use less)
1/2 teaspoon whole mustard seed per pint jar
1/2 teaspoon dill seed per pint jar
1 Dill head per pint jar
1 Garlic clove per pint jar
5 Cups White Vinegar
5 Cups Water
1/2 Cup Kosher salt

Wash beans cut to fit into jars if necessary. Add the spices to the jars then pack with beans.

Combine vinegar, water, and salt and bring to a boil. Pour into jars leaving 1/2 inch head space. BOIL for six minutes, remove jars, complete seals if necessary, and place on wire rack until cool.

Sour Pickles
2 quarts and 1 cup of vinegar
8 spears horseradish root, 3 x 1 1/2 inches
1/2 cup honey (if you want less sour use more honey. Like 1 – 1 1/2 cups)
2 tablespoons whole allspice
2 tablespoons mustard seeds
1 small blade of mace or 1/2 teaspoon of powdered.
4 pounds cukes washed, and cut to fit jars
4 sticks of cinnamon
4 bay leaves
12 peppercorns
8 cloves garlic

Combine vinegar, horseradish, and honey in medium-size enamel or stainless steel saucepan. Place allspice, mustard seeds, and mace in cheesecloth bag and drop into vinegar mixture. Simmer covered for 15 minutes.

Distribute cucumber, cinnamon, bay leaves, peppercorns, and garlic evenly amongst four clear, hot quart jars. Remove horseradish from vinegar and divide evenly amongst the four jars. Pour mixture into the jars covering cukes. Leave 1/2 inch head space. Seal and process 10 minutes.

The dill recipes came from Growing and Preserving Your Own Fruits and Vegetables by George Fitzley, 1975 which I got it at a Farmers Market last year.  The sour pickle recipe came from Stocking Up: The Third Edition of the Classic Preserving Guide by Carol Hupping and the Staff of the Rodale Food Center, 1990 which I got on the recommendation of a blogger, I don’t remember which.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pickle Recipes

  1. Meadowlark says:

    I was just going to ask about the dilly beans that you mentioned over at A Homesteading Neophyte.

    And sorry for being a “ranter” on your website. Feel free to remove that post. It must have just hit me wrong. Weird, since I don’t like the guy anyway ;)

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Her post is what reminded me about the email I sent to Erikka.

    Don’t apologize at all! Here you can rant all you want so long as there’s not -isms.

  3. Burdock says:

    The pickles sound great. Our cucumbers have been a let-down this year. We get a few at a time, but not enough to constitute making pickles.

  4. Howling Hill says:

    They are great though I can’t eat the sour ones as much as I’d like to. They just upset my stomach so very much. *pout*

    Squash didn’t do so well around here. Cucumbers and tomatoes did ok but not fab.

  5. erikka says:

    and let me add that howling hill was SO FAST and SO EXCITED to help and respond to my pickle request.

  6. Greg says:

    The dilly bean recipe is the same one I got from grandmother.I know it works great.
    I tried your fresh packed dill pickle recipe today, and it’s simpler to make than my grandmothers recipe.
    Sorry I don’t do sour pickles

  7. Howling Hill says:

    Erikka: =D

    Greg: the dilly bean recipe is so effing yummy! I have to keep myself from gobbling them all up.

    Let me know how the fresh packed dill come out.

    I love sour pickles but I can’t eat them anymore. They bother my stomach too much. This will be the last time I make that particular recipe. *pout*

Leave a Reply

