The Real Dirt on Farmer John

Wolf and I watched The Real Dirt on Farmer John. Neither of us had ever heard of Farmer John but were mighty impressed with how he took his family farm back from the brink of destruction.

What struck me most was the tongue-wagging of the community members. It seems they didn’t realize their gossiping had such a profound affect on Farmer John. Actually, I don’t think most people realize gossiping has such profound affects on others. While many of us say we “don’t care” what others think about us we should. Once loose lips start speaking mean words, words of lies, lives are destroyed.

Wolf and I really liked the eccentricities of Farmer John. We could feel his glee in the silly outfits and the sadness of his debt and loss of his mother and farm. We’re glad to see he’s pulled it together and built a wonderful community based in Illinois.

And The Bug Song is awesome. So is the Farmer John song. Go check out Leslie Littlefield’s website.

A good sum up of what’s happening with the bees.

This entry was posted in Film, Food, Glorious Food, Saving Our Glorious Earth, Tunes, YouTube. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Real Dirt on Farmer John

  1. Gina says:

    I watched this recently too. Loved it. I was going to write a little review and forgot. I can say I would love to be Farmer John’s neighbor!

    Working on an email to you (thanks for your support!)

  2. Howling Hill says:

    You’re welcome, Gina!

  3. Erikka says:

    I keep hearing about this movie and forgetting what it was! I am clicking over to net flix now! Thanks H.H.

  4. Howling Hill says:

    Erikka: you’re welcome!

  5. farm mom says:

    Loved that documentary too. I watched it on PBS ove a year ago now, I think. Time to rerent it at netflix! :)

  6. Howling Hill says:

    Had you heard of Farmer John before you watched the documentary?

Leave a Reply

