Mabon

Mabon is a day of reflection over the previous spring and summer. It is also the day when Howling Hill pulls up the garden in preparation for the coming winter.

Pulling up the garden is a way to prepare for winter here on Howling Hill. It is a way of acknowledging Mother Earth’s crone time. Now is the time Mother Earth descends into herself allowing her body to rest and recover from the months of producing. It is her dream time, her time to sleep to allow for inactivity to prepare herself for the coming spring.

I honor Our Mother by accepting her Northern Hemisphere needs to rest. I call to her loudly in my garden, thanking her for all she’s given over this summer, year, decade, lifetime. I actively promise to protect her, work to heal her industrial wounds, to educate my fellow human of the unsustainable means which human consumption demands. I lead and teach by example showing my fellow workers, friends, and family there are viable, simple, and quick solutions to overcoming the destruction of Mother Earth.

This entry was posted in Faith, Gardenin', Weatha, Wheel of the Year. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mabon

  1. Greg says:

    I hope you enjoy Mabon as much as I.

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Greg: Mabon is a sad time for me. The summer is spent, the harvest is about done, the nights get dark and cold, the garden gets pulled up. I know there’s a lot of people who love Mabon and autumn in general but I’m not one of them.

Leave a Reply

