41 Pounds

We all get tons of junk mail (or, as Gayle at the Post Office says “unsolicited mail”). But did you know the average weight for all that crap in your box is 41 pounds? Those of us who are committed to saving Mother Earth from the ravages of industrialism and greed can sign up to eliminate the junk from coming into their mailbox.

I never did sign up for this service for a couple reasons. First and foremost I don’t extra cash to sign up for something as worthy as eliminating junk mail. Second, I’ve been on the “don’t send me crap in the mail” kick for quite sometime. Whenever I get a catalog I didn’t request I call the company immediately and ask to be removed from the mailing list. If the junk is from some organization and no number is available I google the organization and get their number. If the organization put a self addressed stamped envelope in with a money request I send it back with a note saying “please remove me from your mailing list.”

Honestly I can say Wolf and I have seen a huge decrease in the amount of crap we get. This time of the year, however, the number seems to go back up because it’s catalog season. Companies are getting their catalogs out for the impending Capitalmas season so the time I spend on the phone taking our names off lists has increased.

Strangely we’ve somehow gotten on some Conservative mailing list and gotten all kinds of really strange stuff about the candidates, some propaganda movies coming out, and whatnot. I don’t know where they got our names from but I can pretty much trace the lineage because the mail is coming as [first name] Wolf [last name]. Now Wolf is what I call my handsome man not anyone else and I only do it on blogs to protect his privacy. So for him to be receiving mail with the name “Wolf” as his middle name is just down right odd.

Anyways if you want to eliminate the junk which comes daily you can do it the way I’ve been doing it (ie: calling and mailing individual companies and organizations) or you can go through 41 Pounds. They seem like a great organization and are wicked nice to talk to on the phone!

This entry was posted in Saving Our Glorious Earth. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 41 Pounds

  1. Kathie says:

    We used to get all those pre-approved credit offerings in the mail, sometimes two a day. You can opt out of those for free by going to: http://www.optoutprescreen.com It’s run by all the credit reporting agencies and it’s worked for us.

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Kathie: thanks! I printed out forms for Wolf and I. I find it odd I get credit card offers all the time considering I’m unemployed.

Leave a Reply

