Gunshots

At dawn I was woken up by the oh so pleasant sound of gunshots (note the sarcasm). High powered gunshots at that.

BANG.

BANGBANGBANG

BANG.

Over and over and over again. It’s 8:30 and it’s been going on for a few hours. Joy. (Not).

At first I incorporated the shots into the dream I was having. I don’t really remember what I was dreaming about but it had to do with a lake. In the dream a cop walked through the lake and put his gun in the water which floated. My thought was wow, I had no idea guns float. Oh, wait, I must be dreaming because guns don’t float.

Today marks the beginning of the hunting season. Phesant is on death row. What I find amusing? is the pheasant (and deer, and bear, and other hunted animals) will make their way up the mountain and away from the hunting area. Once they get onto my property I promise to protect them as best I can. And I ask them to invite their kin and friends, even their enemies.

(bang bang)

I hate hunting season. I hate the sound of the guns, the pointless shooting of animals. (bang, bang, bang). It would be one thing if we weren’t well fed as a society. But food is available at the grocery store and every gas station (if you consider what’s available food). We’re not jonesing for food. It’s abundant.

Now I’m sure many of you will disagree with me on this hunting point. But honestly I don’t think hunting is necessary, especially not with guns. If you must hunt use a bow and arrow. There’s more skill involved and a lot less noisy. You don’t frighten the residents a 1/2 mile* away with the swoosh of an arrow like you do with the bang of a gun. It’s this time of year I’m most afraid of my fellow human. I DO NOT WANT TO LEAVE MY HOUSE. I do not want to let the cats out. One of us might get shot.

*I originally started to say “your neighbors” but most of whom hunt around here are from out of state or from the suburban parts of this state so we (bang, bang, bang, bang, bang, bang) aren’t neighbors.

This entry was posted in In the Neighborhood, Other Animals. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gunshots

  1. I’m totally with you. We live in the city, so its not a problem here, but I hardly ever go hiking in the fall for that very reason.

  2. Silverwolf Sanctuary says:

    So you think it is better to go to our stores to buy meat. Meat that has been raised in CAFOs, jammed in a pens ass to elbow, feed who really knows what and injected full of antibiotic and hormones, Is that how you want your food raised, is that humane?
    THATS what I really want to eat! Or the harvesting of an animal who has been raise on free-range grub, all natural wild yummies, with miles to roam.

    Now comes the time to slaughter, slap a chain around its neck drag it into a killing shute and one of these things will happen: eletrocution, shot in the head(BANG, you can’t get away from the guns and no sport here), pinned in the head or just a good ol’ sledgehead, whoops I better swing again! So is this humane and kinder, than hunting?

    An atleast for me and my family a quick one shot kill, it never saw it coming! Peaceful til the very end. By the time it hears the bang it is hit and all over!

    As for archery it to can be quick, but most archery kills, the animal does not know what happen (no big boom) they feel pain in there side and run and run to get away from the pain untill they bleed to death which can be hours (slow, painfully, scary death). If I still hunted would be with a rifle and just think after the first shot the rest of the critters have a heads up!

    I agree, what we call: LL Bean Hunter, It looks like they walk out of the pages of the catalog. These people who watched one too many hunting shows and bought a shine new gun. They think they can hunt, these people are danerous to everything, people, animals and environment. When our family see these people walk into the woods, we would pack up and go somewhere else. Most any person can pass the hunter safety course. So there is no way of stopping them! So post your land!

    Is your property “posted” for no hunting? So the critters will be safe!
    Also
    By state law (RSA 207:3-a), a hunter (or anyone else, for that matter) shall not discharge a firearm or bow and arrow within 300 feet of a permanently occupied dwelling without the landowner’s permission. Doing so is a violation!

    My 2 cents
    Glenn

  3. Noelle says:

    I used to hear illegal hunters in my backyard back on the farm. It drove me crazy to hear them, being too lazy to hunt legally.

Leave a Reply

