Like George I’m Curious

Noelle posted a poll on her blog to see how her readers voted. Like her, I’m curious how my readers voted.

What was your number one issue: economy, farm policy, war, social issues? Comment and let me know.

This entry was posted in Politic/ians, Polls. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Like George I’m Curious

  1. Chan says:

    Ok, I’ll be the first one to bite!!

    I am sure this is no surprise to you that the most important issues to me are national security/the war on terror and stopping illegal immigration (it’s a national security issue to me to have our borders as open as they are). I voted for McCain.

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Thanks for biting Chan.

    Those issues weren’t important to me at all. Ending the war is important but the rest rank low on my priority scale.

    For me the big issue is the economy being jobless and all, and, of course, reproductive rights. Environmental issues (where I categorize farming) is also in my top five.

  3. farm mom says:

    I have some basic leanings toward the right when it comes to fiscal issues, but I’m a left leaner. For me, the main issues are rights. I could not vote conservative because I believe in women’s rights and minority rights far too much. A party that platforms on limiting people’s basic rights is one I cannot get behind. I am also am a firm believer in freedom of, and FROM religion. The rep party’s embrace of fundamentalist religious thinking and the whole “world domination of christianity mentality” also scares me to no end.

  4. Howling Hill says:

    Farm mom: all wonderful and valid points.

    For me, I can live with bad economic policy (obviously) but bad social policy, including the restriction of rights, is just not acceptable to me.

  5. Meadowlark says:

    You didn’t put a space for OTHER. I wrote in Ron Paul. I promised myself I would not vote for anyone who voted for the bailout. It was ill-conceived, shoved down our throats, and designed to make the rich richer at the expense of the poor and middle class. Besides, both Republicans and Democrats scare the hell outta me. It’s the “career politician” thing. And while I at least see some hope with Obama, please make no mistake – he’s a politician. He might be an idealistic politician, but he’s in it to gain power. That’s how he got where he is. So it’s the SYSTEM I’m voting against, less than the people.

  6. Howling Hill says:

    Meadowlark: There’s a blank spot on my screne I don’t know why it’s not there for you! Sorry you couldn’t put your vote in!

    Your well articulated reasons regarding “career” politicians rings very true for me too. I don’t see the Democrats as a party of change, hope, civil or social rights at all. They are just as money greedy and power hungry as the Republicans. No real change will take place now that Obama is in office. It’ll be the same as before.

    Thanks for weighing in!

  7. peppylady says:

    I voted “green party for president” and it was a write in here, which doesn’t surprise me.
    Let see if I can recall who ran for president on my ballot Ralph Nadar, Bob Barr, the guy for the constitution party, and some guy formal known as “Marvin Richardson”
    Then also the two main candidates.

    I’ve never been a one party candidate or a one issue person but to quickly sum it up I would have to say any issue link to poverty, and or health would be my concerns.

    But in general I’m happy how the election came out.
    Idaho did go more liberal compare to last election although no liberal got in.
    Like we did make progress and that ok.

  8. Burdock says:

    What? No Constitution Party candidate Chuck Baldwin? What could me more important than God and Guns?

  9. Howling Hill says:

    Burdock: you know, that’s a fab question!

  10. morgannadimone says:

    I voted for McKinney, because, quite frankly, I bleed green! (We leave our trek of being metro greenies behind and become homesteaders April 2009!)That having been said, Economic/Ecological strife was the driving force behind my vote.

  11. tinydr says:

    Funny that the Obama voters have remained silent…

    I voted for Obama, in large part because I saw a major difference between the two big-party contenders in terms of what sort of justice they were likely to install in the Supreme Court when the next seats come open.

    Admittedly the sort of justice McCain suggested he would pick could easily be a tipping point in terms of Roe, and that was of no small concern… but to me the larger issue, which Roe involves, is the view of privacy rights barely prevailing in the courts currently. Any so-called “strict constructionist” is likely to be another Scalia-esque idealogue, and active in ways I find deeply concerning.

    Obama, on the otherhand, will likely keep the status quo. Maybe if we’re lucky he’ll even get the chance to balance things out (with Kennedy’s flipflopping the conservatives have the potential to do a damage as is).

    Beyond that, while I doubt Obama will do everything I’d like to see him do, and expect he’ll do things I don’t like one bit, I’m quite comfortable with choosing the best viable option now, over a better theoretical option which might be more in keeping with my line of thinking (I admit I would never vote Republican, if there were a R running for local office who I thought to be right for the job and a decent person I might not vote, but I wouldn’t vote R).

  12. erikka says:

    education and healthcare are big time on my mind. my parents are soon to be retiring and I am only part time employed. socialized healthcare would be a blessing for us right now. my parents could probably retire RIGHT NOW instead of in 5 yrs when my mom’s retirement package kicks in for healthcare.

    education is my career field

  13. Howling Hill says:

    Morganna: McKinney best suited my belief system which is why I voted for her.

    Tinydr: I noticed the same silence. I don’t want to keep the status quo, I want change toward the Liberal end of the spectrum. This is exactly why I didn’t vote for Obama. I didn’t see him as changing anything substantial. Certainly, though, I wish to be proven wrong.

    The last time I vote republican was when that guy who used to be governor of Mass, shit, what was his name? He left to become a banker or something. Celluci took over for him. Crap, I can’t think of his name. Anyways, before this election in which I voted for a couple republicans on the local level, that was the last time I voted on the red side of the aisle.

    It’s time we had more than two colors to choose from. Red and Blue do not adequate represent the whole of the US voters. Both the repubslicans and the democrats are more concerned with getting and maintaining power than creating a just society.

    Erikka: mine too. I have no health insurance on my own, only what I get through Wolf. And it’s a crappy, crappy insurance program.

    I have no career. I have no job. It’s disheartening to be dependent on my husband for food, clothing and shelter. It’s really eliminating any self esteem and respect I have left after the debacle getting an education was.

  14. jessica says:

    Wow, someone voted for McCain. I voted for Obama because I’m a Democrat and I think Obama will bring change, not as much change as we need, but some change. And he will be able to appoint one or more SC Justices and make lots of appointments that will help get our country back on the right track.

Leave a Reply

