Final Exam

Tonight is the final exam in the EMT class I’ve been taking since September. I’ve been doing very well on all the quizzes and tests I’ve taken over the course of the semester. The lowest grade I’ve gotten is an 88. The instructor throws out the quiz with the lowest grade so I should be all set.

After tonight’s final I have three classes left, all of which are practice for the practical. A “practical” is the practical exam one must take. It’s a state exam in which one must demonstrate they can splint extremities, long board someone, do CPR, assist breathing, and um, something else I can’t think of right now. The practical exam is on the 13th. I’m more nervous about the practical than the written.

The written is a national exam one must take. So, in reality, there are two written exams I have to take: the one from the instructor and the one from the DOT. Generally you have to wait until after the practical to take the written but the state is changing the requirement so one can take it before the practical. This is my plan. When I walk out of the practical I’ll be certified and can go job hunting with my shiny new certification.

I had planned on being employed by the end of the year but that may not work out according to my plan. Wolf’s mother is having knee surgery today and will be off her feet for about a month. I offered to go down and stay with her once she’s out of rehab until she’s independent on her feet again. I suspect it’ll be about three weeks I’ll be there if not longer, thus I won’t be looking for a job until I get home. This is ok with me and Wolf. I’ll be using my assessment skills and assisting someone I care for very much. Even if I had a job I would’ve asked for time off to stay with Wolf’s mom.

Anyways, I’ll be done with the class by next week and hopefully certified by the 13th. If all goes according to plan, I’ll have a job around the New Year.

I’ll be studying for the rest of the day, trying to learn somethings I know I’m not getting yet.

This entry was posted in EMS, Grindstone, Mi Familia. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Final Exam

  1. Maria says:

    Knock ’em dead on the exam!!

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Thanks Maria, I will!

  3. Taylor says:

    Good luck! I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you.

    And whatever happenend to the seeds? I never saw Allie post about receiving them. Did I miss it or are they already lost?

  4. scott says:

    We are cheering you on, You can do it!

  5. Allie says:

    Good luck with the test!

    How wonderful of you to volunteer to take care of Wolf’s mom. That’s such a beautiful gift.

  6. Kim says:

    Congrats to you. I have the utmost respect for all you first responders. I have been and ER nurse for the last 8 years.

  7. peppylady says:

    Sound like your all read for your EMT exam, so break a leg.
    Your an angel to take care of wolf mom.

    Coffee is on.

  8. Howling Hill says:

    Taylor: Thanks! And I’ll shoot her an email asking if she got the seeds.

    Scott: I did it! I did it!

    Allie: Thank you! I’ve been down to assist Agnes in the past. It really changed our relationship for the better.

    Kim: Mucho gracisis! Being in the ER is walk in the park either!

    Peppy: I kicked ass and took names thank you very much!

Leave a Reply

