I Did Very Well

First I want to thank everyone for the kind and encouraging comments left in the previous post. It really means a lot to me you took the time to do so.

Regarding the exam, I did very well. Initially I got 12 wrong out of 150 but I find if you present your case to her regarding a question she gives you credit so I got 10 wrong because I pressed my point twice. I believe this gives me an “A.” Regarding my quizzes my average is 96 and my exams (excluding the final) my average is 90. Overall I’m doing quite well. I’m very pleased.

The next three classes are all practical. I already explained what the practical is so I won’t do so again. I need to bone up on splinting femurs and physical exam (PE). Splinting in general is not difficult — the technology hasn’t changed in 1000 years. It’s a sling and swath or just wrapping in a pillow until one gets to the hospital then the technology come out in full force — but using the traction splint to splint a femur is where I’m unsure. It’s the device I’m reluctant with. Regarding PE, it’s just very detailed and you can’t miss anything. I have to go over a patient from head to toe looking in orifices, checking bones, ABCs, etc. It’s pretty detailed and missing something can fail you immediately. Thus, I need to practice.

The other stations include CPR, oxygen setup and usage and suctioning, and inserting oral and nasal airways which are all pretty simple. I’ll be brushing up on my CPR again just so I don’t make a fool out of myself. Being an instructor means I should know it inside and out! I do but I tend to get frazzled when someone is watching me. I’m fine if the situation is real it’s when I know I’m being critiqued that I get all flustered.

Anyways, I’m pretty confident overall. There’s just a few areas I need to bone up on and so I’ll be practicing with Wolf over the next week.

This entry was posted in EMS, Grindstone. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I Did Very Well

  1. Wolf says:

    Alll-right. I get to be the patient for the “physical” exam. Bow-chikka-bow-bow.

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Yes you do, Babe. And I’m making sure I check for pyropris.*

    *Or however you spell it.

  3. farm mom says:

    Good for you HH! And apparently, this is good for wolf too! LOL

  4. Howling Hill says:

    Thanks farm mom. Yes, Wolf is in for a treat. I may even put my sexy bra on just to do the exam =)

  5. Kathie says:

    Way to go! That’s awesome.

  6. Noelle says:

    You’ll be great, I know it!

  7. Turtleheart says:

    Congrats! This is awesome. So much to know; I would be scared to death, but it sounds like you’ve found your niche!

    But, uh… if you put on your sexy bra for Wolf’s exam… will you even have a chance to give him one?

  8. Howling Hill says:

    Thanks everyone!

    Turtle: Yea, I’ll have a chance but only a snowballs =)

  9. Wolf says:

    The correct spelling is priapism. For anyone who doesn’t know what it is, here ya go: http://www.ucsfhealth.org/adult/medical_services/urology/male_sexual/conditions/priapism/signs.html

  10. Howling Hill says:

    Wolf is my human spell check.

Leave a Reply

