Yule

yuleladyofthelights The Holly King departs as the Oak King is born; the Crone delivers Him of the Mother. Hail the Mystery of Sage and Babe, of Crone and Mother. Hail the God of the Yule. Hail the God of the Sun. The Holly King ends His reign. The Oak King’s begins. May this Yule bring Light and may the joy of the Sun enter here. Good health, good, cheer, good fortune in the coming year!

This day is a new beginning and I send my power forth into union with the energies of the Sun God, that the Sun’s rebirth rekindles my strength as the rays rekindle the warm of Earth.

Midwinter is today, the shortest day of the year. It happens to be one of my favorite days because, starting tomorrow, Sun will be stronger everyday until Litha. Honestly, I’m a Sun worshiper which is not something I realized until I really started to pay attention to the Sabbats. I love how He warms my skin and Mother Earth, how blue He makes the sky, how bright He makes my day. I have this instinctual panic inside my chest Sun will never return on gray days or cold nights.

It’s snowing something fierce out there. I really wish we were sitting in front of a fire, all cozy instead of sitting apart at our computers. The snow makes is difficult to celebrate with others which means we should be concentrating more on celebrating with each other.

(The above taken from Grimoire for the Green Witch: A Complete Book of Shadows by Ann Moura.)

This entry was posted in Pages, Weatha, Wheel of the Year. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Yule

  1. Turtleheart says:

    Happy Solstice! Woo-hoo! Here comes the Sun!

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Thanks ladies! And to you!

  3. Annette says:

    Happy Yule – it’s nice to meet a like minded sister!

  4. Hope you had a nice Yule… It seemed like an appropriate night to have such a dumping of snow!

  5. Howling Hill says:

    Annette: I agree!

    Silverwolf: It was quiet. I made turkey soup while Wolf shoveled. What did you do?

  6. We pretty much spent the day baking and staying warm… It was the first time in ages and ages that we did not host or attend a ritual, but the weather was prohibitive!

Leave a Reply

