Happy Hanukkah

hanukkah_theme_5I was so lost in the wilderness of self pity yesterday I forgot to wish my Jewish readers a happy Hanukkah. Forgive my oversight.

Back in the 90s I was in a committed relationship with a man who is Jewish. I thought he and I would be together forever so I started to learn what I could about his religion. Our relationship ended three years after it started; during that time I picked up a few things about Judaism.

First, Hanukkah has a variety of meanings and as individualistic as those who celebrate Judaism. Second, homemade jelly donuts signifying the burning of the oil is one of the best ways to celebrate Hanukkah as far as I’m concerned. Third, there’s a lot of humor in Judaism something I never really saw prior to our relationship. I always saw Judaism as a overtly serious religion because the few Jews I knew (from my hometown) were very serious kids with very serious parents.

I’m glad to know not everyone is serious all the time. While I may come off that way I actually have a great sense of humor. It’s pretty wide ranging and sophisticated if I do say so myself.

This entry was posted in Other Faiths. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Hanukkah

  1. peppylady says:

    I don’t know much about Judaism North Idaho isn’t known well for there Jewish population.
    But I have a desire to visit a synagogue to see what it is all about.
    But also I want to visit a Buddhist temple.

    Coffee is on.

  2. Howling Hill says:

    I love learning about all religions. The reason I took an interest in Judaism is because of Matt. I’ve lot a lot of the knowledge I had because I didn’t use it.

Leave a Reply

