No Poo Week Two

I totally named this post “no poo week two” because it rhymes. Bet you didn’t know I’m a poet, hu?

So as is my usual routine I didn’t wash my hair last week. Like I said, I usually only wash on Sundays. Now, while I may only wash my hair once a week I do wet it down every time I take a shower which is usually everyday. I also mentioned my head was a little flaky for a day or two but that seemed to resolve itself by Wednesday. The sage scent was still there though not as strong as it had been by the end of the week.

Yesterday was hair washing day. I used the rest of what I made this time without getting any on my face. It worked as well as the first time I used it. The sage still wasn’t as strong so that’s good. Not that it was too strong to begin with — it wasn’t — but it definitely lasted longer than I thought it would. I did notice some flaking last night but none this morning. I’m still not sure what the flaking is so I’ll keep an eye out to work on the answer.

We’ll see how my head and hair is in a month but all in all this seems to be working out fine. I really hope so because I so don’t want to go back to shampoo and conditioner.

This entry was posted in Beauty Products. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to No Poo Week Two

  1. Cassandra says:

    I am glad that is working for you, but it’s so strange to me, I don’t think it would work for me at all. If I were not working, I would definitely try it, though.

    If I don’t wash my hair every day, it gets really gross oily. Sometimes I can skip one day, but by the end of that second day… blech! And just wetting my hair seems to make it worse. (Weird!)

    What I wonder is, if I was able to do the experiment, it would finally get to a point where it was normal. If I ever get an opportunity where I don’t have to leave the house for a couple of weeks, I may try it. :)

  2. Noelle says:

    I went about five days without washing my hair over the Christmas holiday, because I wasn’t swimming, and lazy as all get-out. By day five it had developed a consistency that I can’t really describe as good or bad, just odd. Either way, I did not regret it. I hate taking showers.

  3. Allie says:

    You’ve almost convinced me to try this again. :)

  4. Howling Hill says:

    Cassandra: I would guess the reason your hair gets so oily is because of the petroleum products. Petroleum, after all, is oil. Do you take a vacation? Maybe if you take a week off this is something you can try…?

    Noelle: It took me a couple months to realize my hair was adjusting to the lack of daily shampoo and conditioner. It’s been about two years since I cut down the washing to once a week so my hair/scalp has adjusted.

    Allie: Totally try it again. I think it’ll be worth it.

    So far the only negative I’ve noticed is it gets tangled easier than before and the knots can get pretty big if I don’t address them when small.

  5. Melinda says:

    I’m glad it’s better! I’m going to take a wild stab at this and say that the flaking is the baking soda that wasn’t washed out of your hair completely. This happened to me the first few times I did this, and then I realized I had to rinse a bit more, and it stopped happening. Alternatively, since baking soda is an exfoliant, it could be removing some dead skin from your scalp? (Not a bad thing.)

    Glad it’s working!

    PS. Allie, you should try it again – it took a while for me to find the best way, but now I won’t go back!!

  6. peppylady says:

    Not sure what the flaking is but there something out there.
    But I understand most people wash there hair to much.
    Every so often I wash my hair with a bee pollen shampoo which I like.
    I don’t know if there anything to this or not.
    I know female who looses there hair might have a thyroid or hormone problem.
    Plus also I know dry skin would be lack of water.

    I hope you don’t mine me pointing out these problems.

    Coffee is on.

  7. Howling Hill says:

    Melinda: me too. I will rinse more and see if that helps.

    Peppy: of course I don’t mind. I’m not losing my hair just getting a flaky scalp which seems to go away a day or two after I wash. And you’re totally right on the lack of water. I should drink more.

Leave a Reply

