A Not Fun Annaversary

Today marks one year since I got laid off.

In the last week I’ve filled out three applications and sent out one resume. Not a single solitary word from any of the places I’ve applied.

Mr. Obama, we don’t need a fucking stimulus plan. We need jobs. It’s all nice and well to plan but planning isn’t action. Working is action. Planning is not.

Thanks W. You were one of the worst presidents, EVER. Certainly in my life and that’s saying a lot because your daddy and favorite uncle (Ron Regan) were pretty effing bad. But you take the cake.

I can’t tell you how low my self-esteem and self-confidence is because I can’t think in numbers that low.

This entry was posted in Grindstone, Politic/ians. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Not Fun Annaversary

  1. SmalltownRN says:

    Oh I feel your pain…these are very hard times for many of us….I am sorry you haven’t had any responses to your resumes….it can be very frustrating and affect our self-esteem….it’s so hard to stay postive in an environment that is so uneasy it’s self….my thoughts are with you…

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Thanks, Nurse Chapel.

    (Ok, I’m sure you’re not Nurse Chapel but I *heart* her.)

  3. Noelle says:

    I don’t even know how one begins to create jobs. I think you have to start from the bottom with public works, and then that develops consumer confidence and then that leads to more job creation. But wow, I can’t read a single news story without a deepening dread, and how does that help anything?

  4. Howling Hill says:

    Noelle: I don’t know either. It would help if tech jobs came back to the US from elsewhere and the same with manufacturing jobs. The “green jobs” everyone is talking about need to be defined and then created but where to start?

    And I don’t want a piddly job. I want a job with a living wage.

  5. Allie says:

    I wish we’d go back to the FDR parks services/improving public works jobs, etc. I’d be more than willing to take a job improving our public spaces if they were readily available.

    Sorry you’re having a crappy time of it. Thinking good thoughts for your jobs apps.

Leave a Reply

