Knitting Clinic

Today at 12 I’m heading to Canaan to participate in a knitting clinic. I’m really excited because there’s one project I put aside because I couldn’t figure out how to do the stitches it requires. Since the people I know who knit all live far away I don’t really have a resource to go to when I need assistance. This particular project is called a Sampler Afghan. It’s a bunch of squares and each square is different. The afghan is designed to teach you all different kinds of stitches. At the end you connect the squares together and that’s the finished project.

I’m not sure what I’ll do with the Sampler Afghan. It’s just to complex so I know I’ll be going back to the clinic (if it’s held more than once. Please, knitting goddess, let it be held more than once!) to get assistance with it. Originally I planned on making it for Jennifer, Wolf’s niece who is getting married in May, but once I realized I couldn’t figure out how to move the needles in the way the pattern calls for, and because I still haven’t figured out how to read patterns, I gave up on it and chose something a little easier to work on for the couple. I’ve been diligently working on the Triangle Afghan. Those of you on Facebook will note my status has been “Howling Hill is knitting.” a bunch of times over the last week. Or at least I think that’s what my status is. Maybe I’ve been knitting so much I forgot to update my status.

Anyways, I’m almost done with the afghan I started for Jennifer and Laurence. I have to pull out a row because I made a mistake but otherwise I’m doing ok with it. It’s a basic knit/purl design. It’s not particularly difficult to make. The most difficult part is paying attention which is something my ADD addled brain has always had trouble doing. I cannot watch tv or have the radio on when I’m knitting. This is bothersome because the house can be so dammed quiet while Wolf is at work that I want some music but I find myself going to the beat or signing or remembering something which happened to the song and then I realize I effed up and have to go back and pull out the stitches. What I need is some music you hear when you get a massage but I have no idea of artists so I don’t know how to choose it off Amazon. Suggestions?

This entry was posted in Two Sticks and Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Knitting Clinic

  1. Allie says:

    I listen to classical music when I need to work with that kind of concentration. I read something about the way it works with brain waves or something when I was in college and studied to Mozart from then on. Brahms or Schubert might work well. The nice thing about classical music is that it’s easy to find at the library.

  2. Allie says:

    Oh! And have fun knitting!

  3. Howling Hill says:

    Allie: I thought of classical music but it tends to get me all riled up with the crescendos and stuff. I’m thinking something a little more soothing and mellow.

    Thanks!

  4. Zan says:

    Hello there, Howling Hill! I stopped by after you were nice enough to post on my blog some time ago :)

    Ahh, knitting. I’m in the same boat, after awhile I just disregard patterns and just try to rework stuff I see using my own ingenuity. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t.

    As for music, I like Tibetan Meditation (or chant) music. “Cry of the Snow Leopard” is particularly nice. Also, mystical music…Sufic or Old Eastern, such as Niyaz or Vas are the ones I like….

    Haha, it’s good to finally put the “nearly useless” info in my head, to use at times.

    Happy New Year!

  5. peppylady says:

    I don’t know how to knit but I find it fascinating.

    Coffee is on.

  6. Howling Hill says:

    Zan: thanks for stopping by. The Tibetan Meditation music sounds like a good idea.

    Peppy: you should learn!

Leave a Reply

