The Debacle Wedding

Wolf and I have been watching old episodes of Scrubs. He likes the show much more than I do. Obviously I like it enough to watch it but I would not put it in my top 10 favorite tv shows.

Last night we watched the episode where Carla and Turk get married. It being tv, of course, OF COURSE, the wedding was a debacle. You know how it goes: something catastrophic happens and the wedding is off/on/off/on and the stars of the show have to come through and Save the Wedding ™ hero/ine style. In the end everyone’s happy.

There are countless examples. Charlotte’s first wedding had her announce to Carrie, just as Charlotte was about to walk down the aisle, Tre was impotent. Her second wedding had wine spilling, bride tripping, etc. Carrie’s wedding had her stood up at the alter; it was, after all, the basis of the whole movie. Rhoda had to take the bus. Mary had her ex show up and ruin her affair (followed closely by the “birth debacle” another common theme in tv). There are tons of examples more obvious than the rather obscure ones I chose (shows you my taste in tv is really limited). Honestly I find it tedious that no wedding on the tube can go off without ridiculousness.

I’ve been on the periphery of many weddings. I’ve even planned my own wedding and nothing catastrophic happened at any of them. Yes there were small problems but nothing akin a debacle. No one got stood up or forgotten about, dresses went the wrong color, cakes were appropriate.

Yes I know Hollywood is out to make money but seriously. I just want to watch tv once and have a wedding occur without being bored because I know the episode will devolve into boring wedding debacles.

This entry was posted in Boob Tube. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Debacle Wedding

  1. Paulette says:

    Sometimes those things do happen.
    My wedding day:
    1) it came a mother of a thunderstorm and the wedding was to be outside. Luckily we got the tiny church and crammed everyone in
    2) My freshly done hair got drenched, didn’t have time to do it again
    3) I got a speeding ticket on the way to get my hairdone (only 2nd in my life)
    4) Hubby backed into a tree at the reception
    5) Friend hosting the reception was in bed with the flu, her 2 daughters got called in last minute that day to pull it together
    6) My maid-of-honor fainted during the ceremony – Twice

    Those are the ones that stick in my head, there were probably more. Would have been an entertaining tv show if I wasn’t in it.

  2. AnnaMarie says:

    We planned our wedding, worked on menus, reception site, costume/dress and finally…. we took the money we had saved, eloped and spent it all on a three week honeymoon in an RV traveling the Pacific Northwest. I don’t regret any part of what we did.

    The wedding was getting out of hand (my mom and his mom) we were paying for all of it and we’d already lived together 3 years.

    Our honeymoon was incredible and I have very fond memories of that.

  3. Howling Hill says:

    Paulette: you said it: sometimes. But not all the time. TV makes it appear as if every wedding is a non-comedy of (deliberate) mishaps and petty rivalries from friends and families.

    AnnaMarie: We planned a big wedding then eloped also. Not in that order. We planned our elopement then planned a wedding only to cancel it due to Catholic pressure. Since we were already married it wasn’t necessary to have a big wedding though I wanted one. Once I realized The Catholics ™ weren’t going to lay off we just canceled the whole affair.

  4. Allie says:

    My maid of honor was an absolute beast and hogged the mirror while I was trying to get ready. I told her she could pick her own dress (b/c I only had one attendant since our wedding was minuscule) and she picked one that looked so much like my dress that you can’t tell who the bride is in the wedding pictures. The night before my wedding, she made a comment to my little brother-in-law that was so embarrassing both he and I wanted to crawl in a hole. And she offered to take my dress home for me and told me her gift was getting it cleaned for me- didn’t, and when I finally went to look at it months later there was a HUGE stain down the front of it – not like I was going to wear it again, but still, it makes me sad. I could actually go on and on and on about it, but I won’t. I picked my battles during the wedding (actually, I just clammed up and ate it) but needless to say, we aren’t friends anymore.

  5. Howling Hill says:

    Allie: That’s horrible! I’m so sorry you had to deal with that.

    I’ve never been a bridesmaid though I’d love to be. I’ve been the flowergirl a million times or so but never made it to the adult table.

    I did have one friend who asked me to be her witness at her wedding (she was the maid of honor at mine) but she made it very clear to me I was not a bridesmaid. She didn’t tell me she was eloping — Wolf did. She told him but not me — and that really hurt. When Wolf and I eloped I told her months in advance so she and her wife (then girlfriend) could get a hotel reservation at the place we were in. But she wanted to keep me in the dark. When I got up in the morning to get dressed I threw on a pair of cut offs and a tank top and he said “ah, you better change. This is their wedding.” Though I was hurt I didn’t say anything to her. Like you I ate it.

    We’re not friends anymore either. Her wedding was not the reason we’re not friends but that’s when I started to realize how not a good friend she was despite us being friends for over a decade.

Leave a Reply

