Hello, My Name is Howling Hill and I’m…

…employed.

I’ve been reluctant to speak of it because I didn’t know if the job would be a good fit. And because I didn’t want to jinx it. I still don’t really want to talk about it but I feel I owe my readers an explanation of why I’ve been absent so long.

Please don’t say “congratulations” or get too excited. I’m afraid if too big a deal is made — or if the job is acknowledged at all — it’ll evaporate and I’m not prepared for another year of unemployment. And that’s also why I’m not giving any details. Let me settle in and then I’ll talk about it.

(Please, Universe, don’t take it away because I posted about it.)

This entry was posted in Grindstone. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Hello, My Name is Howling Hill and I’m…

  1. Annette says:

    I have often wondered how many times I’ve jinxed myself by saying something. Thoughts and words do affect the physical plane (quantum physics) so ‘becareful little mouth what you say’ (remember that song?).
    I am sending good thoughts/words your way. May the universe provide what you need.

  2. Meadowlark says:

    Then I won’t say anything.
    But you’ll know what I’m thinking….
    dont work too hard :)

  3. Cassandra says:

    Ooo. I am the same way! (shudder) When I got pregnant the second time (after not being able to for 12 years) it was a long time before I would tell anyone. If something happened, I didn’t want to have to explain it to anyone, I didn’t want to have to endure their sympathy if things went badly. And I didn’t want to get too attached to the idea myself, knowing how badly it would hurt. I used to only half-jokingly tell people that B was two years old before I finally accepted the fact that I was going to have a baby. :)

    I also don’t like folks making a big deal over stuff. I feel so awkward about all the attention. LOL

  4. Howling Hill says:

    Annette: exactly! And thanks.

    Meadowlark: =)

    Cassandra: This is a new leaf for me. Usually I make a huge deal out of such things. But old age has made me more cautious than ever. And once you put words out there, well, they’re spoken. I was afraid to write them on this blog because writing is more permanent than speaking.

  5. AnnaMarie says:

    I know what you mean. Sometimes it’s hard to revel in good things when thing have been bad.

    If you need blog fodder I’ve tagged you for a meme on my blog.

  6. Annette says:

    Reminds me of our revised ‘stick and stones’:
    Sticks and stones can break my bones but words are power that harm the soul. The statement that words can never hurt is untrue. =/

  7. Melissa says:

    Sending you good vibes.

  8. Chan says:

    I also believe that speaking something makes it real or can jinx things.

    So, I am *not* excited and am giving *no* congrats. hehe!

    Best of luck. :)

  9. Noelle says:

    Good on you! At the very least, it should pick up your mood a little to know that someone has taken you in. I hope you are getting the most possible enjoyment out of it that you can!

  10. Howling Hill says:

    AnnaMarie: It’s not right that it’s hard to reveal good things. Totally not right.

    Annette: Yep. Totally.

    Melissa: thanks!

    Chan: =)

    Noelle: not being completely dependant on Wolf will be nice and will certainly elevate my mood.

  11. jessica says:

  12. Taylor says:

    Ok…well…I’m not saying congratulations or anything Jinxy, but I’m very pleased for you.

  13. Howling Hill says:

    Jessica: =)

    Taylor: thanks! Me too!

  14. Allie says:

    I’m leaving a comment that is in no way congratulatory in nature. :)

Leave a Reply

