Questionaire

I got this over at Melissa’s Ramblings who got it from Chris over at One Acre Homestead. Please play along.

1-What is the biggest goal of your lifestyle? To become farmers

2-When did you start this lifestyle? That’s difficult to pinpoint. I’ve always *wanted* to be a farmer, even when I was a kid. It wasn’t until I moved into my own house in 2002 that I could start to garden. We moved to Howling Hill in 2004 and continue to garden and have chickens but farming has not come to fruition.

3-What was your main motivation? A deep motivation. Instinct or nostalgia for a time long past.

4-Did you have any previous experience in anything you’re doing now? I watched Papa plant and maintain a garden every year.

5-Does your spouse/significant other (if you have one) share the same ideas? Yes which is awesome though sometimes I feel like he drags his feet so I have to motivate him.

6-Do your friends and family understand and support these choices? What about your kids? Ha, that’s funny. The answer is no. Our families think we’re out of our minds though I do think there’s some grudging respect there. Some of our friends support — and desire! — our goals and others watch from afar.

7-How happy are you with your achievements so far? Yes though I feel like we’ve been held back by my lack of employment. We’d hoped to be on a farm by now. I’m not keen on starting a farm when I’m forty but I guess that’s the way it’ll have to be considering I am working for way below what I’m worth.

8-Are you more of a gardener, homesteader, prepper, health conscience, “green”‘ or a combination of several? Health conscious first. I worked in health care for so long I came to see the industry for what it is. I didn’t want doctors or nurses coming near me with their pills and injections and I didn’t want pharmaceuticals getting rich off my illnesses. Gardner second only because I didn’t have access to land which I could garden until Wolf and I got married and bought our own house. One of the things I would not negotiate was the backyard. It needed to be big enough and sunny enough to garden in. Green has come late but I’ve worked hard to green up our lifestyle and I think I’ve done a damn good job. Certainly there’s lots to do but I’m still better than most people I know.

9-Has this change of lifestyle affected your personality? Absolutely. I’ve become less irritable because I eat better food. My ability to learn has increased. I’m nicer and politer than I’ve ever been. I’m even a little patient now. One part of my personality it’s enhanced is my desire to be different. Now I get to be a rebel WITH a clue! I rebel against the mainstream norm with a message! Go me!

10-Has it changed your view of your life before? Yes. I realized how ignorant and uncaring I was about Earth even though I stated I cared about it because, you know, I recycled.

11-What about how you view others that don’t understand it or naysay? I blow them off. They are not worth my time.

12-If you could convince someone to live the way you do in ONE sentence, what would you say? Want your grandkids to have a planet to live on? If so, get it together. Ok that’s two but they go together like a horse and carriage.

Other Questions

1-How large is your vegetable garden? We have six raised beds each about 5×5.

2-Do you grow any fruits, and what and how many? Blackberries and alpine strawberries though both grow wild.

3-Do you have any animals and what are they? 2 cats. 8 chickens coming later in the year.

4-Do you can/dehydrate/freeze/store your own produce? I don’t dehydrate but I do can and freeze often.

5-Do you work with mainly power tools or hand tools in your gardens and others? Hand tools though we have a chainsaw for the big stuff.

6-Do you compost? YES!

7-Do you recycle? Yes

8-Do you consider yourself energy conscience? (conserving to save $) Absolutely

9-Do you make any of your own household cleaners? No though I don’t use chemical ones. I use vinegar.

10-Do you make your own bread? I don’t but Wolf does. He’s not consistent with it though.

11- If in an emergency situation, are you able to not leave home for a week? How about a month? A year?? I don’t really get the question.

12-Are you tired of answering questions yet? Getting there.

13-If you prep, what do you consider to be your most useful tool/items? Seed flats. Water bath canner.

14-Are you able to heat your home without gas or fuel oil? No, unfortunately. We live in a 600 sqft mobile home so there is no room for a woodstove or other alternative heat source. This is something we want to change when we move into a house.

15-Are you able to cook without gas or electricity? No. We use propane for our stove, the camping stove, and the grill.

16-Again, if in an emergency situation, could you live in the wild or out of a tent? Maybe. I don’t know to be honest.

17-Have you ever practiced your prep skills? (turning off main power for a day or 2) How did you do? We’ve lost power for upto twelve hours so, aside from the cold, we did ok.

18-Do you have the knowledge & skills (plus tools) to hunt and fish for food? No.

19-If you don’t prep, why not? I don’t have a good reason. Mostly I don’t like the idea of hunting.

20-Do you or can you sew your own clothes and make your own bedding? No, I haven’t learned yet. Getting there.

21-Can you field dress a deer, drink a coffee, smoke a cigarette, make a cell phone call, light a fire, AND answer all of my annoying questions at the same time? No. First, I have no idea how to dress a deer (unless you mean putting it in a tutu), I don’t drink coffee nor smoke, I don’t have a cell phone though I can light a fire.

This entry was posted in Meme Fun. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Questionaire

  1. Meadowlark says:

    #21 – you made me laugh!
    Deer!!!
    Tutu!!!!

    Thanks.

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Meadowlark: I love making people laugh!

  3. Pingback: Passing Along the Homestead Survey « Recession Depression Therapy

Leave a Reply

