Wedding Gift

In May of this year Wolf’s niece is getting married. We’re not invited because of a longstanding family dispute however I did knit the couple a nice blanket. You can see it here on Women Not Dabbling in Normal. Incidentally, that will be my last post on WNDiN.

I wrote a card for Jennifer. Here’s the text

Jennifer,

Contrary to popular belief I am quite a big fan of tradition. I like the constancy and consistency of tradition. Tradition provides comfort in chaos, in times of un-sure-edness.

When Uncle Wolf and I married, Aunt Barbara passed to me this lace and silk flower. As she told it to me, it was passed to her by Aunt Elizabeth who received it from Aunt Susan. It was your mother who gave it to Aunt Susan when she married Uncle Joe. Now it is my turn to pass it along to the next bride — you! When another in our family marries, I assume Cynthia or Diana, it’ll be your responsibility to pass it to that bride along with the herstory of the lace and silk flower. Brides of Nicholas and Stephen should also be given this traditional gift though it won’t happen for many years. There lies the comfort of tradition, knowing and trusting an event will occur without exception or malice.

I wish you and Laurence all the happiness in the world. When times are tough look at the lace and silk flower and remember the love you feel now and know you have the support of tradition and the strength from it and your family.

With love,

Aunt Howling Hill

I have to rewrite the note because I made a bunch of spelling mistakes. As I was rereading it I thought it sounds a little trite. What do you think?

How would you feel if you received this note from an estranged aunt?

This entry was posted in Mi Familia. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wedding Gift

  1. Allie says:

    “There lies the comfort of tradition, knowing and trusting an event will occur without exception.” End the sentence there, I think. It’s a lovely letter and it’s also lovely of you to continue the tradition without exception.

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Allie: I was hoping you’d offer your writing advice. I did rewrite it and now it’s way longer.

  3. Annette says:

    I think it is wonderful that you are continuing the tradition despite family stuff. Families can make life so complicated sometimes! =)

  4. Maggie says:

    If I received this from an estranged Aunt, I would take it as an attempt at reconciliation… If I were writing the letter in the vein, I would cut out any hint of enstranged feelings – such as “Contrary to popular belief” or “without exception or malice.”

    I think what you made was very nice and would include in the letter that you knitted it by hand, specifically for her. The idea of a hand made gift, made with one person in mind is really something special!

    Good for you for finishing such a nice project – I just do not have the patience for knitting or sewing…

  5. Christine says:

    Please send it and the note. I think it sounds wonderful. I love the idea of the herstory going through the generations.

  6. Howling Hill says:

    Annette: yes, they certainly can make life complicated.

    Maggie: not so much reconciliation more like I don’t have a right to keep the heirloom and it’s rude to pass it along without a gift attached. The niece has made it abundantly clear she’s not interested in speaking with me or Wolf. Last year she snuck out of Agnes’ house so we wouldn’t see her when we went to visit.

    I wish you had the patience so we could knit together.

    Christine: Thanks!

Leave a Reply

