Baby Steps

So the other day I posted about being a commitment-phobe. While I have not come to any conclusions regarding the class* I have made one commitment to Planet Fitness.

Wolf and I have been talking about working out since the dawn of time. To sound like a broken record the money just wasn’t there for either of us to join. Now that I’m working, however the money has become available so Wolf went and joined a few weeks ago (and has yet to work out) and I joined today. I committed to a year of working out. Well, more correctly, a year of paying a gym whether I work out or not.

Since I wrote that post I’ve been thinking a lot about commitment. Somethings are easy to commit to for me, like love and marriage with Wolf. I don’t remember having any major freak outs when we were going out or planning the wedding about committing to him, or just one person. Marriage is one commitment I committed to without balking at all. So why am I so reluctant to commit to myself? That’s what taking the class would be, committing to myself to increase my skill base and knowledge level, not to mention the money (although it won’t be a lot more. Like maybe a dollar or two more an hour). It’s the same with the gym and working out. Why is that so hard for me? Why is it hard for any of us to commit to ourselves, to our bodies, our hearts and souls?

I bit the bullet and just went to Planet Fitness and filled out the paperwork. I set up an appointment with a personal trainer for next week. I plan on working out Monday, Wednesday, and Friday with Wolf as a way to get forty pounds off and to increase my strength** so I can do my job without hurting myself, my partner, or my patient.

So, I take self to be the one I love everyday, to have and to hold, from this day forward by working out three days a week, continuing to eat good nutritious, local foods, and seeing my commitment through.

*It’s still not decided whether the class will be run or not so I may be getting my panties in a bunch for no reason.

**I want super sexy biceps.

This entry was posted in Cough/How Do I Look..?, Deep Thoughts, Lets Get Physical. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baby Steps

  1. Allie says:

    “So, I take self to be the one I love everyday, to have and to hold, from this day forward by working out three days a week, continuing to eat good nutritious, local foods, and seeing my commitment through.”

    You are so freaking awesome.

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Thank you for your kind words Allie.

Leave a Reply

